Ewch i’r prif gynnwys

Employment Research Unit

The Employment Research Unit (ERU) aims to coordinate and develop employment relations and human resource management (HRM) research.

This includes organising research seminars and conferences, supporting PhD students, conducting joint research projects, managing the Montague Burton Visiting Fellowship and developing joint funding proposals.

ERU is based within the Management, Employment and Organisations section of Cardiff Business School, but also includes researchers with an interest in human resource management and employment relations from other areas.

Gaining collaborative advantages: The changing role of employers' organisations in the British economy

This project runs from 20 June 2014 to 19 June 2017.

It is sponsored by Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) and led by Dr Marco Hauptmeier with Dr Leon Gooberman and Professor Edmund Heery.

Award type: Research, ESRC Future Research Leaders Fellowship

Montague Burton visiting fellowship

Since 1990, the ERU has organised a regular visiting scholar programme based on the Montague Burton Fund.

The unit uses these funds to build up contacts with international researchers, to facilitate research collaboration between members and internationally renowned scholars and to enhance the international reputation of both the Employment Research Unit and Cardiff Business School.

Forthcoming and past scholars

  • 2014/2015 - Rebecca Givan (Rutgers University, USA), Lise Lotte Hansen (Roskilde Universitet, Denmark), Cathie Jo Martin (Boston University, USA).
  • 2013/2014 - Kerstin Harmann (University of Central Florida, USA), Greg Bamber (Monash University, USA), Lowell Turner (Cornell University, USA).
  • 2012/2013 - Charles Heckscher (Rutgers University, USA), Sanford Jacoby (UCLA, USA), and Christian Levesque (Montreal University, Canada).
  • 2011/2012 - Ed Carberry (Boston University, USA), Morris Kleiner (University of Minnesota, USA), Sarosh Kuruvilla (Cornell University, USA).
  • 2010/2011 - Janice Fine (Rutgers University, USA), Martin Behrens (Hans Böckler Foundation, Germany), Marian Baird (University of Sydney, Australia).
  • 2009/2010 - Luis Ortiz (Pompeiu Fabra), Nikola Smit (North West University, South-Africa)
  • 2008/2009 - Michael Burawoy (University of California, Berkeley, USA), Ruth Milkman (CUNY, USA), Bradon Ellem (University of Sydney, Australia).

Co-ordinator

Dr Thomas Prosser

Senior Lecturer in European Social Policy

Email:
prossertj@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6796

Academic staff

Profile image of lady with black bob

Yr Athro Rachel Ashworth

Head of Management, Employment and Organisation, Professor in Public Services Management

Email:
ashworthre@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5842

Yr Athro Paul Blyton

Emeritus Professor

Email:
blyton@caerdydd.ac.uk
Rick Delbridge

Yr Athro Rick Delbridge

Academic Lead for SPARK and University Dean of Research, Innovation and Enterprise, Professor of Organizational Analysis

Email:
delbridger@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6644
Heike Doering

Dr Heike Doering

Lecturer

Email:
doeringh@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0805
Deborah Foster

Yr Athro Deborah Foster

Professor of Employment Relations and Diversity

Email:
fosterd1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5358
Photograph of Julian Gould-Williams

Yr Athro Julian Gould-Williams

Professor of Human Resource Management

Email:
gouldwilliams@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6146
Deborah Hann

Dr Deborah Hann

Lecturer in Human Resource Management

Email:
hanndj@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5559
Marco Hauptmeier

Yr Athro Marco Hauptmeier

Reader in International Human Resource Management

Email:
hauptmeierm@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5080
Edmund Heery

Yr Athro Edmund Heery

Professor of Employment Relations

Email:
heery@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4919
Jean Jenkins

Dr Jean Jenkins

Reader in Employment Relations

Email:
jenkinsj1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5338

Dr Michael Marinetto

Lecturer in Public Management

Email:
marinettom@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5658
Khelifa Mazouz

Yr Athro Khelifa Mazouz

Professor of Finance

Email:
mazouzk@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0973

Yr Athro Aoife McDermott

Reader in Human Resource Management

Email:
mcdermotta@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5065
Jonathan Morris

Yr Athro Jonathan Morris

Associate Dean for Research, Professor in Organisational Analysis

Email:
morrisjl@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6392

Dr David Nash

Lecturer in Human Resource Management

Email:
nashd@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6865

Yr Athro Robyn Thomas

Professor of Management

Email:
thomasr4@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5724
Victoria Wass

Yr Athro Victoria Wass

Professor of HRM

Email:
wass@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5714

Yr Athro Keith Whitfield

Professor of Human Resource Management

Email:
whitfield@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6870
Photograph of Rachel Williams

Rachel Williams

Lecturer (teaching and scholarship, Management, work and organization)

Email:
williamsr6@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5074