Ewch i’r prif gynnwys

Cardiff Health and Social Care Improvement Research

We work in partnerships and across disciplines to improve the quality of health and social care for patients.

Everyone wants high quality care at times of sickness or vulnerability. Yet health and social care systems are some of the most complex known to society.

Research is essential to identify problems, develop solutions and understand how lasting, workable and replicable improvements in healthcare can be made effectively and faster to benefit patients.

Aims

Cardiff Health and Social Care Improvement Research is a Cardiff University Research Network that unites 13 Schools and harnesses our multidisciplinary expertise to address the following six aims:

  • safety - avoiding harm to patients from care intended to help them
  • effectiveness - providing services based on scientific knowledge to all who could benefit and refraining from providing services to those not likely to benefit
  • patient-centeredness - providing care that is respectful of and responsive to individual preferences, needs, and values
  • timeliness - reducing waits and harmful delays for those who receive and those who give care
  • efficiency - avoiding waste, including waste of equipment, supplies, ideas, and energy
  • equity - providing care that does not vary in quality because of personal characteristics such as gender, ethnicity, geographic location, and socioeconomic status.

Please get in touch with Professor Davina Allen, if you would like to hear more, or if you're interested in joining the Network.

Steering group

Our research is founded on strong partnerships with NHS and governmental partners, industrial collaborators, patient advocacy groups, professional associations, third sector organisations, scientific societies and other internationally leading research institutions in our field.

Selected publications

Lead researcher

Allen, Davina

Yr Athro Davina Allen

Pennaeth: Ymchwil ac Arloesi

Email:
allenda@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 206 88561

Academic staff

Maneesh Kumar

Yr Athro Maneesh Kumar

Reader in Service Operations, Program Director Executive MBA

Email:
kumarm8@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5276
Irena Spasic

Yr Athro Irena Spasic

Senior Lecturer

Email:
spasici@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0320
Ivor

Yr Athro Ivor Chestnutt

Cyfarwyddwr Astudiaethau Ôl-raddedig, Uwch-ddarlithydd Clinigol ac Ymgynghorydd Anrhydeddus mewn Iechyd Cyhoeddus Deintyddol, Cadeirydd dros dro y Bwrdd Deintyddol Clinigol

Email:
chestnuttig@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 29207 46680

Dr Anwen Cope

Research Associate

Email:
copea1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2074 6553
Alison Wray

Yr Athro Alison Wray

Professor (Research)

Email:
wraya@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4762
Virpi Ylanne

Dr Virpi Ylänne

Senior Lecturer

Email:
ylanne@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5049
Michelle Aldridge

Dr Michelle Aldridge-Waddon

Senior Lecturer

Email:
aldridgem@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9017
Michael J. A. Handford

Yr Athro Michael J. A. Handford

Professor

Email:
handfordm@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5407
Ben Hannigan

Yr Athro Ben Hannigan

Athro: Nyrsio Iechyd Meddwl

Email:
hanniganb@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 206 88567

Yr Athro Aled Jones

Athro: Diogelwch Claf ac Ansawdd Gofal Iechyd

Siarad Cymraeg
Email:
jonesa97@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 206 88570

Dr Ray Samuriwo

Darlithydd: Nyrsio Oedolion

Email:
samuriwor@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 206 87749
Gould, Dinah

Yr Athro Dinah Gould

Athro Nyrsio

Email:
gouldd@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 206 88563

Yr Athro Nicolette Priaulx

Professor of Law

Email:
priaulxn@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5869
Photograph of Daniel Gartner

Dr Daniel Gartner

Lecturer

Email:
gartnerd@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0850
Jonathan Bisson

Yr Athro Jonathan Bisson

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
bissonji@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8486

Yr Athro Keith Harding

Clinical Professor

Email:
hardingkg@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 29207 44505
Mike Robling

Yr Athro Mike Robling

Director of Population Health Trials

Email:
roblingmr@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 7177

Dr Jonathan Hewitt

Clinical Senior Lecturer

Email:
hewittj2@caerdydd.ac.uk
James Morgan

Yr Athro James E Morgan

Professor in Ophthalmology, Consultant Ophthalmologist

Email:
morganje3@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2074 3222
Marcela Votruba

Yr Athro Marcela Votruba

Pennaeth yr Ysgol

Email:
votrubam@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 0117
Barbara Ryan

Yr Athro Barbara Ryan

Cyfarwyddwr Rhaglenni Ôl-raddedig a Chyfarwyddwr WOPEC

Email:
ryanb@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 29208 70233
Jennifer Acton

Dr Jennifer Acton

Lecturer

Email:
actonj@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0203
Marjorie Weiss

Yr Athro Marjorie Weiss

Professor of Pharmacy Practice

Email:
weissm1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Professor Jacky Boivin

Yr Athro Jacky Boivin

Professor

Email:
boivin@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5289
Alison Bullock

Yr Athro Alison Bullock

Professor - CUREMeDE

Email:
bullockad@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0) 29 2087 0780
Wendy Hardyman

Dr Wendy Hardyman

Research Fellow, Y Lab

Email:
hardymanw@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9873
Ceri Jones

Dr Ceri Jones

Senior Research Fellow, Y-Lab

Email:
jonesc177@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9875
Dr Sofia Gameiro

Dr Sofia Gameiro

Senior Lecturer

Email:
gameiros@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5376

Postgraduate students

No profile image

Rebecca Bullingham

Research student

Email:
craner@caerdydd.ac.uk
Yiallouridou, Christina

Christina Yiallouridou

Research student

Email:
yiallouridouc@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+ 44 (0)29 208 76471
Bethan Edwards

Bethan Edwards

Research student

Nicola Savory

Nicola Savory

Research student

Email:
savoryna@caerdydd.ac.uk
Henry Wilde

Henry Wilde

Research student

Email:
wildehd@caerdydd.ac.uk
No profile image

Thomas Rodwell

Research student

Email:
rodwellt@caerdydd.ac.uk
Emily Williams

Emily Williams

Research student

Email:
williamsep3@caerdydd.ac.uk
Mark Tuson photograph

Mark Tuson

Research student

Email:
tusonm@caerdydd.ac.uk
No profile image

Sarie Brice

Research student

Email:
bricesn@caerdydd.ac.uk
Emma Aspland

Emma Aspland

Research student

Email:
asplandel@caerdydd.ac.uk

Upcoming events

CHOIR and Aneurin Bevan UHB Networking Event

Tuesday 16 April 2019, 09.30 - 14.00
Location: Executive Education suite, 3rd floor of the Postgraduate Teaching Centre, Cardiff Business School, 3 Colum Drive,Cardiff, CF10 3EU

Register via Eventbrite

You are invited to a networking event with colleagues from Aneurin Bevan University Health Board to explore opportunities for research and other collaboration. You are also invited to remain with us for lunch and a seminar with Professor Louise Fitzgerald (Oxford University) thereafter. Louise will speak on ‘Combating challenges to improvement in healthcare’.

Event by School of Healthcare Sciences, Cardiff University

Past events

Network Launch

18 October 2018, 09:00-16:30
Location: Conference Centre University Hall, Birchwood Lane, Penylan, Cardiff, CF23 5YB

Register via Eventbrite

This event will formally launch the Network and will be an opportunity for you to, not only learn more about the work of the Network and engage with fellow researchers, but also to meet clinical colleagues, policy influencers and other key stakeholders. The programme is currently being finalised but, to date, plenary speakers include:

  • Professor Graham Martin, University of Leicester, Professor of Health Organisation and Policy in the Social Science Applied to Healthcare Improvement Research (SAPPHIRE) Group at the University of Leicester.
  • Professor Tim Draycott is a Consultant Obstetrician at North Bristol NHS Trust with a research interest in Patient Safety, particularly multi-professional training, simulation, team working and quality improvement in obstetrics. He currently holds a Health Foundation Improvement Science fellowship to investigate the effects of context on training and simulation. Professor Draycott has led the development of the PROMPT course, which has been associated with improved knowledge, communication, team working and direct improvements in perinatal outcome.

Network show and tell

13 May and 13 July 2018

The show and tell events were an informal networking opportunity to:

  • review current activity within the Schools affiliated to the Network
  • share expertise, priorities and needs
  • help identify the future priorities of the Network.

These events were an opportunity for members to help influence and contribute to the development of the Network