Skip to main content

Behavioural neuroscience

Neuro

We analyse the processes of attention, cognition, emotion, learning, memory, and motivation.

We also explore the neural systems upon which these processes depend, and the genetic mechanisms that are involved. Our research is concerned with understanding these processes both in the healthy organism, and in various disease states.

In this research group, we have developed strong interdisciplinary links with the MRC Centre in Neuropsychiatric Genetics and Genomics, the Dementia Research Institute, and the Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute.

Associated staff

Professor John Aggleton

Professor John Aggleton

Professor

Email
aggleton@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4563
Dr William Davies

Dr William Davies

Senior Lecturer, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
daviesw4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0152
Professor Dominic M Dwyer

Professor Dominic M Dwyer

Email
dwyerdm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6285
Professor Mark Good

Professor Mark Good

Email
good@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5867
Professor Rob Honey

Professor Rob Honey

Professor

Email
honey@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5868
Dr Trevor Humby

Dr Trevor Humby

Reader

Email
humbyt@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6758
Professor Lawrence Wilkinson

Professor Lawrence Wilkinson

Scientific Director, Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute.

Email
wilkinsonl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0) 29 2068 8461
Dr Joseph O'Neill

Dr Joseph O'Neill

Ser Cymru Fellow

Email
oneillj9@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8916
Professor Seralynne Vann

Professor Seralynne Vann

Professor

Email
vannsd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6253
Dr Aline Bompas

Dr Aline Bompas

Senior Lecturer, Joint-Lead for Cognitive Neuroscience

Email
bompasae@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0709
Professor Chris Chambers

Professor Chris Chambers

Professor, Head of Brain Stimulation

Email
chambersc1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0331
Dr Lisa Evans

Dr Lisa Evans

Senior Lecturer, Head of EEG

Email
evanslh@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0080
Professor Andrew Lawrence

Professor Andrew Lawrence

Professor

Email
lawrencead@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0712
Professor Penny (Penelope) Lewis

Professor Penny (Penelope) Lewis

Professor

Email
lewisp8@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0467
Dr David McGonigle

Dr David McGonigle

Lecturer

Email
mcgonigled@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0353
Dr Claudia Metzler-Baddeley

Dr Claudia Metzler-Baddeley

Reader, NIHR/HCRW Advanced Research Fellow

Email
metzler-baddeleyc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0705
Professor Simon K Rushton

Professor Simon K Rushton

Email
rushtonsk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0086
Professor Krishna Singh

Professor Krishna Singh

Professor, Head of Human Electrophysiology

Email
singhkd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 4690
Professor Petroc Sumner

Professor Petroc Sumner

Professor and Head of School, School of Psychology

Email
sumnerp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 0091
Dr Christoph Teufel

Dr Christoph Teufel

Senior Lecturer, Joint-Lead for Cognitive Neuroscience

Email
teufelc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5372
Dr Ross Vanderwert

Dr Ross Vanderwert

Senior Lecturer

Email
vanderwertr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8826
Dr Elisabeth von dem Hagen

Dr Elisabeth von dem Hagen

Senior Lecturer

Email
vondemhagene@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0151
Dr Jiaxiang Zhang

Dr Jiaxiang Zhang

Reader

Email
zhangj73@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0471

Research Fellows

Dr Chen Song

Dr Chen Song

COFUND Fellow

Email
songc5@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8910
Dr Matthias Gruber

Dr Matthias Gruber

Senior Research Fellow

Email
gruberm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0079
Dr Bonni Crawford

Dr Bonni Crawford

Wellcome Trust ISSF Fellow

Email
crawfordbk1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0715