Skip to main content

Perception and action

Action

We study sight, hearing, touch, balance, motor control and decision making.

Our aim is to understand how perceptual information is processed, how it influences actions, how voluntary and automatic actions are created, and how actions influence perception. We use methodologies including psychophysics, eye movement recording, computer modelling, fMRI and MEG methods.

Associated staff

Dr Aline Bompas

Dr Aline Bompas

Senior Lecturer, Joint-Lead for Cognitive Neuroscience

Email
bompasae@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0709
Professor John Culling

Professor John Culling

Email
cullingj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4556
Professor Tom Freeman

Professor Tom Freeman

Professor

Email
freemant@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4554
Dr Sarah Gerson

Dr Sarah Gerson

Senior Lecturer

Email
gersons@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0480
Dr Catherine Jones

Dr Catherine Jones

Reader and Director of WARC

Email
jonescr10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0684
Dr Michael Lewis

Dr Michael Lewis

Email
lewismb@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5399
Dr David McGonigle

Dr David McGonigle

Lecturer

Email
mcgonigled@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0353
Dr Georgina Powell

Dr Georgina Powell

Research Fellow (Health and Care Research Wales)

Email
powellg7@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Simon K Rushton

Professor Simon K Rushton

Email
rushtonsk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0086
Professor Petroc Sumner

Professor Petroc Sumner

Professor and Head of School, School of Psychology

Email
sumnerp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 0091
Dr Christoph Teufel

Dr Christoph Teufel

Senior Lecturer, Joint-Lead for Cognitive Neuroscience

Email
teufelc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5372