Skip to main content

Developmental science

We research human cognitive, motor and pro-social development from conception to adulthood.

Our research in developmental science includes cognitive, motor and pro-social development from infancy to adolescence. We also study autism in childhood and adulthood (Wales Autism Research Centre) and the neurobiological basis for antisocial behaviour.

Our research addresses fundamental issues concerning typical and atypical development, as well as reproductive health and health-related behaviours.

Associated staff

Professor Merideth Gattis

Email
gattism@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0034

Dr Catherine Jones

Reader and Director of Wales Autism Research Centre

Email
jonescr10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0684

Dr Kate Langley

Senior Lecturer

Email
langleyk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6259

Dr Amy Paine

Lecturer

Email
paineal@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5766

Professor Katherine Shelton

Professor

Email
sheltonkh1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 6093

Professor Stephanie van Goozen

Professor

Email
vangoozens@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 4630

Dr Ross Vanderwert

Senior Lecturer

Email
vanderwertr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8826

Dr Elisabeth von dem Hagen

Senior Lecturer

Email
vondemhagene@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0151

Dr Georgina Powell

Research Fellow (Health and Care Research Wales)

Email
powellg7@cardiff.ac.uk

Health psychology and mental health

Our research in health psychology includes the study of reproductive health, health factors affecting human performance, and health-related behaviours. We also study the development of mental health problems and a range of mental health issues including antisocial behaviour and psychopathy, addiction, delusions, depression, ADHD, Autism Spectrum Disorder, Alzheimer's disease, and schizophrenia and anxiety.

We also study the development of mental health problems

Associated staff

Professor Jacky Boivin

Chair

Email
boivin@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5289

Dr Lewis Bott

Reader

Email
bottla@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4938

Dr Catherine Jones

Reader and Director of Wales Autism Research Centre

Email
jonescr10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0684

Professor Katherine Shelton

Professor

Email
sheltonkh1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 6093

Dr Sofia Gameiro

Reader

Email
gameiros@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5376

Professor Stephanie van Goozen

Professor

Email
vangoozens@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 4630

Professor Neil Harrison

Clinical Professor in Neuroimaging

Email
harrisonn4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6785

Dr Kate Langley

Senior Lecturer

Email
langleyk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6259

Dr Georgina Powell

Research Fellow (Health and Care Research Wales)

Email
powellg7@cardiff.ac.uk

Professor Robert J Snowden

Professor

Email
snowden@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4937

Professor Petroc Sumner

Professor and Head of School, School of Psychology

Email
sumnerp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 0091

Dr Cerith Waters

Senior Lecturer

Email
waterscs@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0426

Our developmental research centre