Skip to main content

Research staff

Principal Investigators

Professor John Atack

Professor John Atack

Director, Medicines Discovery Institute

Email
atackj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6983
Professor Riccardo Brambilla

Professor Riccardo Brambilla

Professor, Neuroscience Degree Co-ordinator

Email
brambillar@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6807
Professor William Gray

Professor William Gray

Professor of Functional Neurosurgery, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
graywp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8491
Professor Jeremy Hall

Professor Jeremy Hall

Director, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences; Director/Clinical Professor, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
hallj10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8342
Professor Adrian Harwood

Professor Adrian Harwood

Co-Director of Research, Co-Director of the Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
harwoodaj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0) 29 2068 8492
Professor Meng Li

Professor Meng Li

Chair in Stem Cell Neurobiology, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
lim26@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0) 29 2068 8345
Professor Simon Murphy

Professor Simon Murphy

Professor in Social Interventions and Health, Director DECIPHer and Lead for the Schools Health Research Network

Email
murphys7@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29208 79144
Professor Sir Michael Owen

Professor Sir Michael Owen

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences; Emeritus Director of the Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
owenmj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0) 29 2068 8320
Dr Kathryn Peall

Dr Kathryn Peall

Clinical Senior Lecturer, Co-Director, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Welsh speaking
Email
peallkj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8338
Professor Aled Rees

Professor Aled Rees

Professor of Endocrinology, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Welsh speaking
Email
reesda@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2074 5002
Professor Frances Rice

Professor Frances Rice

Professor of Developmental Psychopathology, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
ricef2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8384
Professor Anne Rosser

Professor Anne Rosser

Professor of Clinical Neuroscience, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
rosserae@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6654
Professor James Walters

Professor James Walters

Director, Centre for Neuropsychiatric Genetics and Genomics; Deputy Director/Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
waltersjt@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8434
Professor Katherine Shelton

Professor Katherine Shelton

Professor

Email
sheltonkh1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 6093
Professor Krishna Singh

Professor Krishna Singh

Professor, Head of Human Electrophysiology

Email
singhkd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 4690
Dr Yasir Ahmed Syed

Dr Yasir Ahmed Syed

Lecturer

Email
syedy@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8314
Dr Kerrie Thomas

Dr Kerrie Thomas

Reader, Operations Director Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute, Co-Director of the Hodge Centre for Neuropsychiatric Immunology in Cardiff

Email
thomaskl5@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8344
Dr Cezar M Tigaret

Dr Cezar M Tigaret

Hodge Lecturer in Neuroscience, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
tigaretc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 206 88330
Marianne van den Bree

Marianne van den Bree

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
vandenbreemb@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8433
Professor Lawrence Wilkinson

Professor Lawrence Wilkinson

Co Director, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
wilkinsonl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0) 29 2068 8461
Professor Julie Williams

Professor Julie Williams

Director, Dementia Research Institute

Email
williamsj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0) 29 2068 8326

Affiliated Research Staff

Professor John Aggleton

Professor John Aggleton

Professor

Email
aggleton@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4563
Professor Nick Bray

Professor Nick Bray

Professor and Divisional Lead for Postgraduate Research, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
brayn3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8368
Professor Vincenzo Crunelli

Professor Vincenzo Crunelli

Professor

Email
crunelli@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4091
Dr William Davies

Dr William Davies

Senior Lecturer, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
daviesw4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0152
Dr Joanne Doherty

Dr Joanne Doherty

Clinical Research Fellow, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
dohertyjl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8455
Professor Jonathan Erichsen

Professor Jonathan Erichsen

Professor of Visual Neuroscience

Email
erichsenjt@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5656
Professor Mark Good

Professor Mark Good

Email
good@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5867
Professor Neil Harrison

Professor Neil Harrison

Clinical Professor in Neuroimaging

Email
harrisonn4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6785
Professor Rob Honey

Professor Rob Honey

Professor

Email
honey@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5868
Dr Trevor Humby

Dr Trevor Humby

Reader

Email
humbyt@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6758
Professor Ian Humphreys

Professor Ian Humphreys

Professor of Viral Pathogenesis and Lead Co-Director of Systems Immunity Research Institute

Email
humphreysir@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
02920 687012
Professor Anthony Isles

Professor Anthony Isles

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
islesar1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8467
Professor Derek Jones

Professor Derek Jones

Professor, Director of CUBRIC

Email
jonesd27@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 9412
Professor Neil Robertson

Professor Neil Robertson

Clinical Professor of Neurology, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
robertsonnp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2074 5403
Professor Frank Sengpiel

Professor Frank Sengpiel

Head of Neuroscience Division, Professor of Neuroscience

Email
sengpielf@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0) 29 2087 5698
Dr Emma Tallantyre

Dr Emma Tallantyre

Reader, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
tallantyreec@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2074 5564
Professor Anita Thapar

Professor Anita Thapar

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
thapar@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8478
Professor Stephanie van Goozen

Professor Stephanie van Goozen

Professor

Email
vangoozens@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 4630
Professor Marcela Votruba

Professor Marcela Votruba

Professor and Hon. Consultant in Ophthalmology

Email
votrubam@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 0117
Professor Simon Ward

Professor Simon Ward

Director, Medicines Discovery Institute

Welsh speaking
Email
wards10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6984
Dr Tim Wells

Dr Tim Wells

Reader

Email
wellst@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4977
Dr Emma Yhnell

Dr Emma Yhnell

Senior Lecturer

Email
yhnelle@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5135
Dr Malik Zaben

Dr Malik Zaben

Lecturer, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
zabenm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 02920 688 333

Early Career Researchers

Daniel Cabezas de la Fuente

Daniel Cabezas de la Fuente

Research Assistant, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
cabezasdelafuented@cardiff.ac.uk
Karolina Dec

Karolina Dec

Research Associate, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
deck@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Lucia Fernandez Cardo

Dr Lucia Fernandez Cardo

Research Associate, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
cardolf@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 8346
Dr Marija Fjodorova

Dr Marija Fjodorova

Research Associate, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
fjodorovam@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)2920 688244
Dr Josephine Haddon

Dr Josephine Haddon

Research Associate, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
haddonje2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29 2067 0569
Dr Esther Lin

Dr Esther Lin

Research Assistant, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
lint1@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Ilaria Morella

Dr Ilaria Morella

Research Associate

Email
morellai@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6976
Olena Petter

Olena Petter

Senior Technician, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
pettero@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
02920 688335
Parinda Prapaiwongs

Parinda Prapaiwongs

Research Assistant

Email
prapaiwongsp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 2308
Dr Adele Pryce Roberts

Dr Adele Pryce Roberts

WCAT Fellow, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
pryce-robertsa@cardiff.ac.uk
Michal Rokicki

Michal Rokicki

Research Assistant, Dementia Research Institute

Email
rokickim@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Matthieu Trigano

Dr Matthieu Trigano

Research Associate, Dementia Research Institute

Email
triganom1@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Nichola Thuvesholmen

Dr Nichola Thuvesholmen

Hodge Foundation Research Fellow, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
brydgesn@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 8339
Dr Jack Underwood

Dr Jack Underwood

Wellcome Trust GW4-CAT Clinical Research Fellow, NMHRI

Email
underwoodj4@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Laura Westacott

Dr Laura Westacott

Research Associate, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
westacottlj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8188
Gemma Wilkinson

Gemma Wilkinson

Research Assistant, Neuroscience and Mental Health Innovation Institute

Email
wilkinsongw@cardiff.ac.uk