Skip to main content

UK qualification reform

Qualifications in the UK are currently undergoing significant changes.

This will lead to changes in qualifications offered and school curricula, and, as a result, our entry requirements are updated annually to reflect these changes.

We work to ensure that no applicants are disadvantaged as a result of the changes and we remain committed to admitting students who hold appropriate qualifications and are most able to benefit from a Cardiff University education, regardless of background.

Further Education (FE) schools and colleges

All schools and colleges are encouraged to include information in the UCAS application reference explaining the qualification provision available to their students.

We accept the Advanced Skills Baccalaureate Wales/Welsh Baccalaureate Skills Challenge Certificate for admission to all of our undergraduate degree programmes as equivalent to one A level at the same grade.

Our offers will typically be based on grades achieved from three A levels.

We will not require applicants to study additional AS levels or have Extended Project Qualifications (EPQs) as a condition of offer. Applicants not offering these qualifications will not be disadvantaged in the offer-making process.

Since 2017, GCSEs in England have been graded numerically on a scale of 1-9 with 9 being the highest level of achievement.  In Wales and Northern Ireland, state schools retained GCSEs with an alphabetically graded structure (A*-G).

GCSE grading structure
GCSE grading structure
GCSE grading structure
Northern Ireland
A*9 and 8 A*
A7 A
B6 B
C5 and 4 C* and C

From September 2025 the new Made-for-Wales GCSE will be introduced. We will ensure no group of students will be disadvantaged, and that our GCSE requirements will recognise the different curriculum and grading structures.

Science A levels in England (Biology, Chemistry and Physics) include a separate result for the practical element of the qualification.

A pass in the practical assessment of the relevant A level subjects will normally be required for the following degree programmes:

In September 2020 T Levels were introduced in England. We are able to accept T Levels for entry into the majority of our undergraduate programmes. Please see individual programme entry requirements for further details of acceptance criteria.