Skip to main content

Employment Research Unit

We aim to coordinate and develop employment relations and human resource management research.

The Employment Research Unit (ERU) aims to coordinate and develop employment relations and human resource management (HRM) research.

This includes organising research seminars and conferences, supporting PhD students, conducting joint research projects, managing the Montague Burton Visiting Fellowship and developing joint funding proposals.

ERU is based within the Management, Employment and Organisations section of Cardiff Business School, but also includes researchers with an interest in human resource management and employment relations from other areas.

Gaining collaborative advantages: The changing role of employers' organisations in the British economy

This project runs from 20 June 2014 to 19 June 2017.

It is sponsored by Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) and led by Dr Marco Hauptmeier with Dr Leon Gooberman and Professor Edmund Heery.

Award type: Research, ESRC Future Research Leaders Fellowship

Montague Burton visiting fellowship

Since 1990, the ERU has organised a regular visiting scholar programme based on the Montague Burton Fund.

The unit uses these funds to build up contacts with international researchers, to facilitate research collaboration between members and internationally renowned scholars and to enhance the international reputation of both the Employment Research Unit and Cardiff Business School.

Forthcoming and past scholars

  • 2014/2015 - Rebecca Givan (Rutgers University, USA), Lise Lotte Hansen (Roskilde Universitet, Denmark), Cathie Jo Martin (Boston University, USA).
  • 2013/2014 - Kerstin Harmann (University of Central Florida, USA), Greg Bamber (Monash University, USA), Lowell Turner (Cornell University, USA).
  • 2012/2013 - Charles Heckscher (Rutgers University, USA), Sanford Jacoby (UCLA, USA), and Christian Levesque (Montreal University, Canada).
  • 2011/2012 - Ed Carberry (Boston University, USA), Morris Kleiner (University of Minnesota, USA), Sarosh Kuruvilla (Cornell University, USA).
  • 2010/2011 - Janice Fine (Rutgers University, USA), Martin Behrens (Hans Böckler Foundation, Germany), Marian Baird (University of Sydney, Australia).
  • 2009/2010 - Luis Ortiz (Pompeiu Fabra), Nikola Smit (North West University, South-Africa)
  • 2008/2009 - Michael Burawoy (University of California, Berkeley, USA), Ruth Milkman (CUNY, USA), Bradon Ellem (University of Sydney, Australia).

Director

Dr Jonathan Preminger

Dr Jonathan Preminger

Lecturer

Email
premingerj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4000 ext 77243

Academic staff

Dr Thomas Prosser

Dr Thomas Prosser

Reader in European Social Policy

Email
prossertj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6796
Professor Rachel Ashworth

Professor Rachel Ashworth

Dean and Head of School

Email
ashworthre@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5842
Professor Paul Blyton

Professor Paul Blyton

Emeritus Professor

Email
blyton@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Rick Delbridge

Professor Rick Delbridge

Professor of Organizational Analysis

Email
delbridger@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6644
Dr Heike Doering

Dr Heike Doering

Lecturer

Email
doeringh@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0805
Professor Deborah Foster

Professor Deborah Foster

Professor of Employment Relations and Diversity

Email
fosterd1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5358
Professor Julian Gould-Williams

Professor Julian Gould-Williams

Professor of Human Resource Management

Email
gouldwilliams@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6146
Dr Deborah Hann

Dr Deborah Hann

Senior Lecturer in Employment Relations, Deputy Head of Section (Learning and Teaching)

Email
hanndj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5559
Professor Marco Hauptmeier

Professor Marco Hauptmeier

Professor of International Human Resource Management

Email
hauptmeierm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 75080
Professor Edmund Heery

Professor Edmund Heery

Professor of Employment Relations

Email
heery@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4919
Dr Jean Jenkins

Dr Jean Jenkins

Reader in Employment Relations

Email
jenkinsj1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5338
Dr Michael Marinetto

Dr Michael Marinetto

Senior Lecturer in Public Management

Email
marinettom@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5658
Professor Khelifa Mazouz

Professor Khelifa Mazouz

Professor of Finance

Email
mazouzk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0973
Professor Aoife McDermott

Professor Aoife McDermott

Professor of Human Resource Management

Email
mcdermotta@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5065
Professor Jonathan Morris

Professor Jonathan Morris

Associate Dean for Research, Professor in Organisational Analysis

Email
morrisjl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6392
Dr David Nash

Dr David Nash

Senior Lecturer in Employment Relations

Email
nashd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6865
Professor Robyn Thomas

Professor Robyn Thomas

Honorary Professor of Management

Email
thomasr4@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Keith Whitfield

Professor Keith Whitfield

Professor of Human Resource Management

Email
whitfield@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6870
Rachel Williams

Rachel Williams

Lecturer in Human Resource Management, Admissions Tutor - Undergraduate Business Management Programmes

Email
williamsr6@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5074