Ewch i’r prif gynnwys

Hinsoddau Oer

We are interested in how life exists in extreme environments and how processes in the coldest places influence the workings of the whole Earth.

The Cold Climate Research Group unites cross-disciplinary scientists in the Earth and Environmental Sciences who are interested in processes in some of the most extreme environments on Earth.

We use field research, laboratory experiments and numerical modelling to understand processes occurring in cold climate systems. We are interested in how life exists in extreme environments and how processes in the coldest places influence the workings of the whole Earth.

Our expertise in biogeochemistry, microbiology, technology development is used to address some of the most pressing scientific questions about the state, behaviour and dynamics of Earth system processes in the polar regions and beyond.

Amcanion

We aim to understand the causes and consequences of change in the Earth system by using glaciology, biogeochemistry, microbiology, palaeoceanography and palaeoecology.

Biogeochemistry

We are working to find out how melting ice sheets impact the ocean, in the past, present and future. We use isotopes, in situ monitoring and microfossils to understand how fluxes of nutrients change the ocean. We are also learning about the role of glacier surfaces in regional ecosystem dynamics and how mixoplankton contribute to the polar ocean system.

Technology development

We develop new technologies for exploring meltwater beneath glaciers, and returning data from deep ice. We are also making systems for monitoring temperate catchments at high spatial and temporal resolution, to understand water quality in UK rivers and reservoirs.

Microbiology

We use state of the art microbial analysis methods to understand icy ecosystems. We are finding out what species can survive in extreme cold systems, both now and in the past. We are measuring the activity of ecosystems, both in extreme icy environments and in UK freshwater systems, to understand how they influence their surroundings.

You can find out about some our research by watching these videos:

Cyhoeddiadau dethol

Staff academaidd

Dr Liz Bagshaw

Dr Liz Bagshaw

Lecturer

Email
bagshawe@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4488
Dr Jenny Pike

Dr Jenny Pike

Reader in Earth and Ocean Sciences

Email
pikej@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5181
Dr Michael Prior-Jones

Dr Michael Prior-Jones

Research Associate
Glaciology and Communications Engineering

Email
prior-jonesm@caerdydd.ac.uk
Dr Samantha Buzzard

Dr Samantha Buzzard

Lecturer in Climate Science

Email
buzzards@caerdydd.ac.uk

Myfyrwyr Ôl-raddedig

Staff cysylltiedig

Dr Henrik Sass

Dr Henrik Sass

Senior Lecturer

Email
sassh@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6001
Dr Aditee Mitra

Dr Aditee Mitra

Research Fellow

Email
mitraa2@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 76828
Shasta Marrero

Shasta Marrero

Lecturer in Environmental and Physical Geography

Email
marreros@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4579
Yr Athro Ian Hall

Yr Athro Ian Hall

Pennaeth Ysgol Gwyddorau'r Ddaear a’r Amgylchedd
Athro Ymchwil

Email
hall@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5612 / +44 (0)29 2087 6689
Dr Claire Earlie

Dr Claire Earlie

Lecturer in Coastal Processes

Email
earliec@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5563
Yr Athro Stephen Barker

Yr Athro Stephen Barker

Reader, Director of Research

Email
barkers3@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4328
Yr Athro Carrie Lear

Yr Athro Carrie Lear

Reader in Earth Sciences

Email
learc@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9004
Dr Ernest Chi Fru

Dr Ernest Chi Fru

Senior Lecturer in Earth Sciences

Email
chifrue@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 0058
Dr Marc-Alban Millet

Dr Marc-Alban Millet

Lecturer in Isotope Geochemistry

Email
milletm@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5124
Dr Morten Andersen

Dr Morten Andersen

Lecturer

Email
andersenm1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4943