Ewch i’r prif gynnwys

Centre for Research on Environment, Society and Space

The Centre for Research on Environment, Society and Space (CRESS) is a major research centre based at Cardiff University.

Centre for Research on Environment, Society and Space

The Centre for Research on Environment, Society and Space (CRESS) is a major research centre based at Cardiff University.

It replaces the Centre for Rural Environment and Society (CRES), which was established in 2004 to develop a growing volume of rural and environmental research within the University.

CRESS is concerned to bring together environmental and social research themes in respect to rural areas, making connections between natural, social, cultural, economic and political processes within rural spaces.

Amcanion

The Centre aims to develop significant programmes of research and international collaborative working, as well as PhD and Masters courses around rural and environmental themes.

We have a multi-disciplinary focus, with researchers drawn from human geography, planning, sociology and landscape ecology. Expertise is provided across a broad range of research themes, including:

  • rural society and culture
  • rural economy
  • the sustainability of rural environments
  • rural and environmental governance
  • environmental justice and rural welfare
  • rural housing and services
  • agri-food systems
  • ethical consumption

Cyhoeddiadau dethol

Funded research programmes and projects to the value of £2.3 million have been directed by members of CRESS.

Projects include:

  • Wales Rural Observatory (Welsh Assembly Government)
  • Climate Change Consortium for Wales (Higher Education Funding Council for Wales, 2009-2014)
  • Delivering renewable energy under devolution (Economic and Social Research Council, 2011-2012).

Director

Yr Athro Paul Milbourne

Yr Athro Paul Milbourne

Head of the School of Planning and Geography

Email
milbournep@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5791

Staff academaidd

Yr Athro Jon Anderson

Yr Athro Jon Anderson

Reader in Human Geography

Email
andersonj@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5308
Yr Athro Gillian Bristow

Yr Athro Gillian Bristow

Deon Ymchwil yn y Coleg Celfyddydau, y Dyniaethau a'r Gwyddorau Cymdeithasol, Athro Daearyddiaeth Economaidd

Email
bristowg1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5388
Yr Athro Richard Cowell

Yr Athro Richard Cowell

Darllenydd mewn Polisi Amgylcheddol a Chynllunio

Email
cowellrj@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6684
Dr Gareth Enticott

Dr Gareth Enticott

Senior Lecturer

Email
enticottg@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6243
Dr Andrew Flynn

Dr Andrew Flynn

Reader in Environmental Policy and Planning

Email
flynnac@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4851
Dr Kersty Hobson

Dr Kersty Hobson

Senior Lecturer in Human Geography

Email
hobsonk@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8682
Dr Antonio Ioris

Dr Antonio Ioris

Senior Lecturer

Email
iorisa@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4845
Dr Peter Mackie

Dr Peter Mackie

Senior Lecturer

Email
mackiep@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6223
Yr Athro Terry Marsden

Yr Athro Terry Marsden

Professor of Environmental Policy and Planning

Email
marsdentk@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5736
Yr Athro Mara Miele

Yr Athro Mara Miele

Professor in Human Geography

Email
mielem@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9121
Yr Athro Kevin Morgan

Yr Athro Kevin Morgan

Athro Llywodraethu a Datblygu

Email
morgankj@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6090
Dr Kirstie O'Neill

Dr Kirstie O'Neill

Lecturer in Environmental Geography

Email
oneillk1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6271
Yr Athro Scott Orford

Yr Athro Scott Orford

Reader in Spatial Analysis and GIS

Email
orfords@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5272
Yr Athro Roberta Sonnino

Yr Athro Roberta Sonnino

Darllenydd mewn Polisïau a Chynllunio Amgylcheddol

Email
sonninor@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5781