Ewch i’r prif gynnwys

Centre for Research on Environment, Society and Space

The Centre for Research on Environment, Society and Space (CRESS) is a major research centre based at Cardiff University.

It replaces the Centre for Rural Environment and Society (CRES), which was established in 2004 to develop a growing volume of rural and environmental research within the University.

CRESS is concerned to bring together environmental and social research themes in respect to rural areas, making connections between natural, social, cultural, economic and political processes within rural spaces.

Aims

The Centre aims to develop significant programmes of research and international collaborative working, as well as PhD and Masters courses around rural and environmental themes.

We have a multi-disciplinary focus, with researchers drawn from human geography, planning, sociology and landscape ecology. Expertise is provided across a broad range of research themes, including:

  • rural society and culture
  • rural economy
  • the sustainability of rural environments
  • rural and environmental governance
  • environmental justice and rural welfare
  • rural housing and services
  • agri-food systems
  • ethical consumption

Selected publications

Funded research programmes and projects to the value of £2.3 million have been directed by members of CRESS.

Projects include:

  • Wales Rural Observatory (Welsh Assembly Government)
  • Climate Change Consortium for Wales (Higher Education Funding Council for Wales, 2009-2014)
  • Delivering renewable energy under devolution (Economic and Social Research Council, 2011-2012).

Director

Professor Paul Milbourne

Yr Athro Paul Milbourne

Head of the School of Planning and Geography

Email:
milbournep@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5791

Academic staff

Yr Athro Jon Anderson

Reader in Human Geography

Email:
andersonj@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5308
Gill Bristow

Yr Athro Gillian Bristow

Deon Ymchwil yn y Coleg Celfyddydau, y Dyniaethau a'r Gwyddorau Cymdeithasol, Athro Daearyddiaeth Economaidd

Email:
bristowg1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5388
Dr Richard Cowell

Yr Athro Richard Cowell

Darllenydd mewn Polisi Amgylcheddol a Chynllunio

Email:
cowellrj@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6684
Dr Gareth Enticott

Dr Gareth Enticott

Senior Lecturer

Email:
enticottg@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6243
Andrew Flynn

Dr Andrew Flynn

Reader in Environmental Policy and Planning

Email:
flynnac@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4851
Kersty Hobson

Dr Kersty Hobson

Senior Lecturer in Human Geography

Email:
hobsonk@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8682
Antonio Ioris

Dr Antonio Ioris

Senior Lecturer

Email:
iorisa@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4845
Dr Peter Mackie

Dr Peter Mackie

Senior Lecturer

Email:
mackiep@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6223
Professor Terry Marsden

Yr Athro Terry Marsden

Professor of Environmental Policy and Planning

Email:
marsdentk@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5736
Mara Miele

Yr Athro Mara Miele

Professor in Human Geography

Email:
mielem@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9121
Professor Kevin Morgan

Yr Athro Kevin Morgan

Athro Llywodraethu a Datblygu

Email:
morgankj@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6090

Dr Kirstie O'Neill

Lecturer in Environmental Geography

Email:
oneillk1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6271
Dr Scott Orford

Dr Scott Orford

Reader in Spatial Analysis and GIS

Email:
orfords@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5272
Dr Roberta Sonnino

Yr Athro Roberta Sonnino

Darllenydd mewn Polisïau a Chynllunio Amgylcheddol

Email:
sonninor@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5781