Skip to main content

Energy, Environments and People

The built environment and those who occupy it need to maximise opportunities that limit the impacts of climate change whilst providing safe and healthy places for people to live and work.

Quality of life and the wellbeing of everyone is reliant on a good quality built environment – from housing, to workplaces, schools and the natural environments that surround them.

Energy, its use and delivery, has a significant impact on these internal spaces, and has the potential to provide comfortable places to live and work together, with external impact on climate change and air quality.

Aims

The Energy, Environment and People Research and Scholarship Group (EEP) aims to reduce energy use whilst supporting appropriate energy systems, to support an improved environment, society and economy.

The EEP Group aims to improve sustainability of the built environment and the lifestyles of people working across built environment scales, from components to buildings, neighbourhoods to national level. Research will provide evidence from design and planning through to implementation and performance evaluation and demolition to initiate long term sustainable improvements.

The research from the EEP R&S has been very diverse since 2014. Research topics range from improving components of buildings such as facades and heating systems, combining technologies to reduce overall energy use, development of tools and approaches to assist with decision making, through to evaluation behaviour change and perceptions of change.

Over £5m research income has been secured by the EEP group from funding bodies and consultancy work with a broad range of project values.

21 research grants have been received – two of these, LCBE SPECIFIC 2 and EnergyREV, have a value of over £500,000. Six projects have a value of between £100,000 - £500,000, with the remaining projects less than £100,000.

Lead researcher

Dr Jo Patterson

Dr Jo Patterson

Senior Research Fellow

Email
patterson@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4754

Academic staff

Dr Eshrar Latif

Dr Eshrar Latif

Senior Lecturer

Email
latife@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0217
Dr Hu Du

Dr Hu Du

Senior Research Fellow

Email
duh4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5589
Dr Simon Lannon

Dr Simon Lannon

Research Fellow

Email
lannon@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4437
Dr Tania Sharmin

Dr Tania Sharmin

Lecturer Sustainable Environmental Design

Email
sharmint@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
02920870798
Dr Vicki Stevenson

Dr Vicki Stevenson

Senior Lecturer

Email
stevensonv@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0927
Dr Marianna Marchesi

Dr Marianna Marchesi

Lecturer in Architectural Design
Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow

Email
marchesim@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0923
Sarah O'Dwyer

Sarah O'Dwyer

MSc Lecturer

Email
odwyers@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4000
Emmanouil (Manos) Perisoglou

Emmanouil (Manos) Perisoglou

Research Associate

Email
perisogloue@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0177
Mr Miltiadis Ionas

Mr Miltiadis Ionas

Research Assistant

Email
ionasm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9314
Professor Phillip Jones

Professor Phillip Jones

Chair of Architectural Science and Chair of the Low Carbon Research Institute (LCRI)

Email
jonesp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4078
Dr Shan Shan Hou

Dr Shan Shan Hou

Lecturer

Email
hous1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5017
Esther Tallent

Esther Tallent

SPECIFIC2 LCBE Project Officer

Email
tallente@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Eleni Ampatzi

Dr Eleni Ampatzi

Senior Lecturer

Email
ampatzie@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4603
Dr Clarice Bleil De Souza

Dr Clarice Bleil De Souza

Reader

Email
bleildesouzac@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5969
Professor Ian Knight

Professor Ian Knight

Professor

Email
knight@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5496
Professor Wouter Poortinga

Professor Wouter Poortinga

Professor, Director of Research, Welsh School of Architecture

Email
poortingaw@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4755
Professor Chris Tweed

Professor Chris Tweed

Head of School, Chair in Sustainable Design

Email
tweedac@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6207
Dr Gabriela Zapata-Lancaster

Dr Gabriela Zapata-Lancaster

Lecturer

Email
zapatag@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0643
Dr Sam Clark

Dr Sam Clark

Senior Lecturer

Email
clarksd1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4430

Postgraduate students

Zhehao Cui

Zhehao Cui

Research student

Email
cuiz1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
07596469402
No profile image

Mohamed Dgali

Research student

Email
dgalime@cardiff.ac.uk
Shuye Wang

Shuye Wang

Research student

Email
wangs95@cardiff.ac.uk
Faisal Farooq

Faisal Farooq

Research student

Email
farooqf@cardiff.ac.uk

Jierui Wang

Research student

Email
wangj127@cardiff.ac.uk
Likun Yang

Likun Yang

Research student

Email
yangl40@cardiff.ac.uk
Siya Duan

Siyu Duan

Research student

Email
duans2@cardiff.ac.uk
Annie Bellamy

Annie Bellamy

Research student

Email
bellamyas@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+4429208 70415
No profile image

Ahmed Alyahya

Research student

Email
alyahyaaa1@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Weronika Tadrak

Research student

Email
tadrakw1@cardiff.ac.uk

A broad range of engagement activities have been undertaken by the group including providing evidence for national policy decision making, CBD training activities and workshops to deliver outcomes to a broad range of stakeholders.