Ewch i’r prif gynnwys

Julian Hodge Institute of Applied Macroeconomics

The aim of the Institute is to carry out research into the behaviour of the UK economy, and to study in particular its relationship with the other economies of Europe. 

In May 1999, Cardiff Business School and Julian Hodge Bank announced a major new initiative, the establishment of the Julian Hodge Institute of Applied Macroeconomics. The main aim of the Institute is to carry out research into the behaviour of the UK economy, and to study in particular its relationship with the other economies of Europe.

This research has been given especial relevance by the ongoing discussions on the extra powers regularly requested by the European Union and also by the recent crisis in the eurozone. The Institute's research work further extends across international trade, money and banking, international finance and econometrics, in a collaboration between around twenty academics, mostly in Cardiff, and some thirty PhD students.

The institute's director since it was founded has been Professor Patrick Minford, of Cardiff Business School, who is also the Economic Adviser to Julian Hodge Bank. Apart from its research projects the institute carries on the forecasting and modelling work which Minford began at Liverpool University and has been based mainly in Cardiff for more than a decade, producing forecasts and policy analysis of the UK and other major economies.

Co-ordinator

Yr Athro Patrick Minford

Yr Athro Patrick Minford

Professor of Applied Economics

Email
minfordp@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5728

Staff academaidd

Yr Athro David Collie

Yr Athro David Collie

Professor of Economics

Email
collie@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0) 29 2087 6815
Yr Athro Huw Dixon

Yr Athro Huw Dixon

Professor of Economics

Email
dixonh@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0) 29 2087 5733
Dr Joshy Z Easaw

Dr Joshy Z Easaw

Senior Lecturer

Email
easawj1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
029 2087 6218
Yr Athro James Foreman-Peck

Yr Athro James Foreman-Peck

Head of the Economics Section

Email
foreman-peckj@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
029 2087 6395
Dr Vo Phuong Mai Le

Dr Vo Phuong Mai Le

Senior Lecturer

Email
levp@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6566
Yr Athro Kul Luintel

Yr Athro Kul Luintel

Professor of Economics

Email
luintelk@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
029 2087 5534
Yr Athro Kent Matthews

Yr Athro Kent Matthews

Sir Julian Hodge Professor of Banking and Finance

Email
matthewsk@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
029 2087 5855
Dr David Meenagh

Dr David Meenagh

Lecturer in Economics

Email
meenaghd@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
029 2087 5198
Dr Panayiotis M Pourpourides

Dr Panayiotis M Pourpourides

Lecturer in Economics

Email
pourpouridesp@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0591
Yr Athro Mike Wickens

Yr Athro Mike Wickens

Professor of Economics

Email
wickensm1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5722

European Monetary Forum

On 4-5 April 2014 the Julian Hodge Institute of Applied Macroeconomics hosted the European Monetary Forum. View the full programme for this event