Ewch i’r prif gynnwys

Centre for Human Rights and Public Law

The Centre for Human Rights and Public law was established in the School of Law and Politics in 2011. The Centre aims to promote teaching and research in human rights and public law.

The Centre brings together members of the School of Law and Politics with expertise in both international and domestic law and provides a forum for the dissemination of research. The Centre members are involved in research-led teaching on the School’s undergraduate and postgraduate programmes.

Aims

The Aims of the Centre for Human Rights and Public law are:

  • To promote and disseminate research in human rights and public law which has impact domestically and internationally
  • To hold conferences and seminars to address specific issues and developments in human rights and public law
  • To develop collaboration between academics, practitioners, government and non-governmental organisations in the promotion and protection of human rights
  • To provide a portal to promote teaching programmes in human rights and public law in Cardiff  School of Law and Politics

Bail Observation Project  - Pro Bono  Programme

The Bail Observation project is based in Oxford. It  publishes reports based on Immigration Bail hearings. The Project is concerned about those who are detained under immigration powers.

Student volunteers observe and report on the Immigration Bail hearings held at Newport, Wales. The students will decide if there are any specific issues that the scheme will focus on. After observing and collating information, the students  write a report for the Bail Observation project.

Lead researcher

Dr Bernadette Rainey

Senior Lecturer in Law

Email:
raineyba@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5365

Academic staff

Christine Byron

Dr Christine Byron

Lecturer in Law

Email:
byronc@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4631

Dr Emily Kakoullis

Lecturer in Law

Email:
kakoullise@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5082
Julie Doughty

Dr Julie Doughty

Lecturer in Law

Email:
doughtyj@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4342
Ambreena Manji

Yr Athro Ambreena Manji

Professor of Law

Email:
manjia1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5473

Yr Athro John Harrington

Professor of Law

Email:
harringtonj3@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4098
Urfan Khaliq

Yr Athro Urfan Khaliq

Professor of Law

Email:
headoflaw@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5462
Lydia Hayes

Dr Lydia Hayes

Lecturer in Law

Email:
hayesl@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9669
Pauline Roberts

Pauline Roberts

Senior Lecturer in Law

Email:
robertspi@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5108

Dr Melanie Smith

Reader in Law

Email:
smithm12@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5287

Yr Athro Anna Grear

Professor of Law

Email:
greara1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5467
Beke Zwingmann

Dr Beke Zwingmann

Lecturer in Law

Email:
zwingmannb@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4628
Ricardo Pereira

Dr Ricardo Pereira

Senior Lecturer in Law

Email:
pereirar1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4644