Ewch i’r prif gynnwys

Celebrating student achievements

19 Gorffennaf 2017

Students celebrating

The Welsh School of Architecture official graduation ceremony took place on Tuesday 18th July.

Graduates and staff donned their caps and gowns for the official ceremony which took place in St. David’s Hall. Afterwards, students and their families were welcomed to the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama for the Welsh School of Architecture graduation reception. Refreshments were enjoyed while students, staff and guests mingled in the College’s foyer and took photos.

Valerie Owen OBE, a multi-disciplinary expert in economic and sustainable development, was invited to give this year’s graduation speech, after which selected prizes were awarded to students at BSc, MArch and MA/Diploma levels.

Following the ceremony and reception, students and their families were invited to visit the Welsh School of Architecture summer exhibition in the Bute Building.

We would like to congratulate all our graduates on successfully completing their degrees and wish them all the best for the future.

Students can keep in touch by registering with the Cardiff University Alumni Network or by following the School on LinkedIn.

Full list of 2017 prize-winners


L.C. Pritchard Prize (Best History of Architecture in Year 2) – Madeline Barnes-Planer

T Alwyn Lloyd Memorial Travelling Scholarships – Velina Iantcheva, Isabella Open, Albert Ching Leung, Edward O’Neill


T Alwyn Lloyd Memorial Prize (Best overall performance in MArch Year 2) – Ryan Gormley

Colwyn Foulkes Memorial Prize (Best MArch Year 2 design in Built Environment) – Ryan Gormley

Wyn Thomas Prize from WYG (Final MArch Year 2 Design project that responds best to site and context) – Anne Bellamy


Society of Construction Law Prize – Azhar Kapadi

Stanley Hall Cox Prize from Stride Treglown – Stephanie Adamou

Rhannu’r stori hon