Centre for Health and Social Care Law

The Centre exists to promote research and its dissemination in the field of Health and Social Care Law.

On 24 June 2016, the Centre organised a public conference on ‘Mental health, learning disability and social care: protecting human rights in the austerity crisis.’ You can read about the speakers and discussions on the Cardiff University Mental Health Blog.

The Centre also supports the Children’s Social Care Law in Wales website.

Aims

  • To promote research and teaching on the socio-legal aspects of health and social care;
  • To provide mutual peer support, mentoring and feedback on research-related activities, including writing articles and research grant proposals;
  • To support the work of pro bono clinics working on health and social care related projects;
  • To organise internal events relating to current research and topical themes in health and social care;
  • To organise public events, and involve external organisations in internal events, to foster public engagement and impact related activities in health and social care;
  • To contribute towards the selection of internal and external speakers in the LAWPL seminar series.
  • Ethical Judgments: Re-Writing Medical Law
    This edited collection explores what would happen if judges were required to be ethically consistent when they make decisions in ‘hard’ medico-legal decisions as well as adhering to legal validity. Nine important cases are re-interpreted in the collection – first by two academics acting as judges and then by two additional academics acting as legal and ethical commentators on the revised judgments. The collection is edited by Stephen W Smith, Senior Lecturer in Medical Law and Ethics, along with colleagues from the Universities of Birmingham, Bristol, Leicester and Strathclyde. In addition, Professors Nicky Priaulx and John Harrington have provided commentaries in the collection.

Director

Yr Athro Philip Fennell

Professor of Law

Email:
fennell@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4344

Academic staff

Richard Caddell

Dr Richard Caddell

Lecturer in Law

Email:
caddellr@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4152
Julie Doughty

Dr Julie Doughty

Lecturer in Law

Email:
doughtyj@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4342

Yr Athro John Harrington

Professor of Law

Email:
harringtonj3@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4098
Tom Hayes

Dr Thomas Hayes

Lecturer in Law

Email:
hayestp@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 6101

Dr Lydia Hayes

Lecturer in Law

Email:
hayesl@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9669
Jo Hunt

Dr Jo Hunt

Reader in Law

Email:
huntj@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5186
Annette Morris

Annette Morris

Reader in Law

Email:
morrisa7@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4580

Yr Athro Mervyn Arthur Murch

Emeritus Professor

Email:
murchma@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4980

Yr Athro Nicolette Priaulx

Professor of Law

Email:
priaulxn@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5869
Huw Pritchard

Dr Huw Pritchard

Lecturer in Law

Email:
pritchardh3@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4355

Dr Bernadette Rainey

Senior Lecturer in Law

Email:
raineyba@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5365
Pauline Roberts

Pauline Roberts

Senior Lecturer in Law

Email:
robertspi@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5108
William Seagrim

William Seagrim

Lecturer

Email:
seagrimw1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 6969

Dr Katherine Shelton

Senior Lecturer

Email:
sheltonkh1@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 6093

Yr Athro Keith Syrett

Professor of Law

Email:
syrettk@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5098
Sharon Thompson

Dr Sharon Thompson

Lecturer in Law

Email:
thompsons20@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4362
Jason Tucker

Jason Tucker

Reader

Email:
tuckerjm@caerdydd.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 0966

Postgraduate students

Helen Taylor

Research student

Email:
taylorh16@caerdydd.ac.uk
  • Mental health, learning disability and social care: protecting human rights in the austerity crisis – 24 June 2016