Skip to main content

Academic staff

Dr Nicolas Abadia

Dr Nicolas Abadia

Lecturer
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
abadian@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Peter A R Ade

Professor Peter A R Ade

Astronomy Instrumentation Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
peter.ade@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4643
Fabio Antonini

Fabio Antonini

Lecturer
STFC Ernest Rutherford fellow
Gravity Exploration Institute
Astronomy Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
antoninif@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+ 44 (0)29 2087 0167
Dr Daryl Beggs

Dr Daryl Beggs

Lecturer
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
beggsd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0268
Dr Leandro Beltrachini

Dr Leandro Beltrachini

Senior lecturer
Brain Imaging Group

Email
beltrachinil@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0274
Professor Anthony John Bennett

Professor Anthony John Bennett

Professor

Email
bennetta19@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5404
Professor Erminia Calabrese

Professor Erminia Calabrese

STFC Ernest Rutherford Fellow
Deputy Director of Research
Astronomy Instrumentation Group
Astronomy Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
calabresee@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5031
Dr Annabel Cartwright

Dr Annabel Cartwright

Reader
Physics Education Research Group

Email
cartwrighta@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Paul Clark

Dr Paul Clark

Reader
Astronomy Group
Teaching Quality Officer
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
paul.clark@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5107
Dr Timothy A Davis

Dr Timothy A Davis

Senior Lecturer
STFC Ernest Rutherford Fellow
Astronomy Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
davist@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Haiyao Deng

Dr Haiyao Deng

Lecturer
Condensed Matter and Photonics

Email
dengh4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
029 2251 0180
Dr Katherine Dooley

Dr Katherine Dooley

Reader
Gravity Exploration Institute

Email
dooleyk@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Simon Doyle

Dr Simon Doyle

Reader
Astronomy Instrumentation Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
simon.doyle@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6170
Professor Stephen A Eales

Professor Stephen A Eales

Head of Astronomy Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology (Co-Director)

Email
ealessa@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0) 7775 871 691
Professor Stephen Fairhurst

Professor Stephen Fairhurst

Head of Gravity Exploration Institute

Email
fairhursts@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0166
Dr Felix Flicker

Dr Felix Flicker

Lecturer in Physics

Email
flicker@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Sean Giblin

Professor Sean Giblin

Joint Director of International
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
giblinsr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6277
Professor Haley Gomez

Professor Haley Gomez

Deputy Head of School
Astronomy Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
gomezh@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4058
Professor Jane Greaves

Professor Jane Greaves

Astronomy Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
jane.greaves@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5999
Professor Matt Griffin

Professor Matt Griffin

Head of Astronomy Instrumentation Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology (Co-Director)

Email
matt.griffin@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4203
Professor Hartmut Grote

Professor Hartmut Grote

Gravity Exploration Institute

Email
groteh@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
++44 (0)29 2087 6460
Professor Mark Hannam

Professor Mark Hannam

Gravity Exploration Institute
Director of the Gravity Exploration Institute

Email
mark.hannam@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0167
Professor Peter Hargrave

Professor Peter Hargrave

Director of Innovation and Engagement
Deputy Head of Astronomy Instrumentation Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
hargravepc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 2920876682
Dr Bo Hou

Dr Bo Hou

Lecturer
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
houb6@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0756
Dr Cosimo Inserra

Dr Cosimo Inserra

Lecturer
Deputy Director of Research
Chair of the Equality, Diversity and Inclusiveness
Astronomy Group
Gravity Exploration Institute
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
inserrac@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6649
Dr Andrea Jiménez Dalmaroni

Dr Andrea Jiménez Dalmaroni

Lecturer
Head of Physics Education Research Group

Email
jimenezda@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0756
Dr Manoj Kesaria

Dr Manoj Kesaria

Lecturer
Advanced Materials and Devices - Sêr Cymru Research Group
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
kesariam@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)2920875255
Dr Georgina Klemencic

Dr Georgina Klemencic

Lecturer
Astronomy Instrumentation Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
klemencicg@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0225
Dr Sam Ladak

Dr Sam Ladak

Senior Lecturer
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
ladaks@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0157
Professor Wolfgang Langbein

Professor Wolfgang Langbein

Head of Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
langbeinww@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0172
Dr Richard Lewis

Dr Richard Lewis

Director of Learning and Teaching
National Teaching Fellow
Physics Education Research Group

Email
lewisr54@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5433
Dr Qiang Li

Dr Qiang Li

Lecturer
Advanced Materials and Devices - Sêr Cymru Research Group
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
liq44@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4665
Dr Stephen A Lynch

Dr Stephen A Lynch

College Dean of Research
College of Physical Sciences and Engineering
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
lynchsa@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5315
Professor J Emyr Macdonald

Professor J Emyr Macdonald

Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Welsh speaking
Email
macdonald@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Mikako Matsuura

Dr Mikako Matsuura

Senior Lecturer
Astronomy Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
mikako.matsuura@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5120
Dr Egor Muljarov

Dr Egor Muljarov

Reader
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
mulyarove@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0175
Professor Kevin Murphy

Professor Kevin Murphy

Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow
Head of Brain Imaging Group

Email
murphyk2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8743
Dr Mattia Negrello

Dr Mattia Negrello

Senior Lecturer
Astronomy Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
mattia.negrello@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 7124
Dr Chris North

Dr Chris North

Senior Lecturer
Director of Recruitment and Admissions
Head of Public Engagement

Email
northce@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0537
Dr Sang Soon Oh

Dr Sang Soon Oh

Sêr Cymru Rising Star Fellow
Advanced Materials and Devices - Sêr Cymru Research Group
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
ohs2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0184
Dr Juan Pereiro Viterbo

Dr Juan Pereiro Viterbo

Senior Lecturer
Deputy Director of Learning and Teaching
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
pereiroviterboj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0933
Dr Nicolas Peretto

Dr Nicolas Peretto

Joint Director of International
Reader
Astronomy Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
nicolas.peretto@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4649
Dr Sarah Ragan

Dr Sarah Ragan

Lecturer
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Astronomy Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
raganse@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0) 29 2087 4289
Dr Vivien Raymond

Dr Vivien Raymond

Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor)

Email
raymondv@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0) 29 2068 8915
Dr Dan Read

Dr Dan Read

Senior Lecturer
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
readde@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5112
Professor Paul Roche

Professor Paul Roche

Chair of Astronomy Education
Director of Postgraduate Taught Studies

Email
paul.roche@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 7197
Wendy J Sadler

Wendy J Sadler

Lecturer
Schools' Liaison Officer
Physics Education Research Group

Email
sadlerwj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6884
Professor Bangalore S Sathyaprakash

Professor Bangalore S Sathyaprakash

Gravity Exploration Institute

Email
b.sathyaprakash@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6962
Professor Bernard Schutz

Professor Bernard Schutz

Gravity Exploration Institute

Email
schutzbf@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Matthew W L Smith

Dr Matthew W L Smith

Lecturer
Director of Postgraduate Research Studies
Astronomy Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
matthew.smith@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5106
Professor Peter M Smowton

Professor Peter M Smowton

Head of School, Physics and Astronomy
Managing Director, Institute for Compound Semiconductors
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
smowtonpm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5997
Professor Patrick Sutton

Professor Patrick Sutton

Gravity Exploration Institute

Email
suttonpj1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4043
Professor Carole Tucker

Professor Carole Tucker

Astronomy Instrumentation Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
carole.tucker@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4144
Dr Freeke van de Voort

Dr Freeke van de Voort

Royal Society University Research Fellow & Lecturer
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
vandevoortf@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr David I Westwood

Dr David I Westwood

Lecturer
Physics Education Research Group

Email
westwood@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4992
Professor Anthony P Whitworth

Professor Anthony P Whitworth

Astronomy Group
Cardiff Hub for Astrophysics Research and Technology

Email
anthony.whitworth@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4798
Professor Oliver A Williams

Professor Oliver A Williams

Director of Research
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
williamso@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4978