Ewch i’r prif gynnwys

Celebrating our graduates

21 Gorffennaf 2017

Earth and Ocean Science graduate with globe

The Cardiff University School of Earth and Environmental Sciences official graduation ceremony took place on Thursday 20th July.

Graduates and staff donned their caps and gowns for the official ceremony which took place in St. David’s Hall. Afterwards, students and their families were welcomed to marquees outside the iconic Main Building for the School of Earth and Environmental Sciences graduation reception. An afternoon tea themed buffet was enjoyed while students, staff and guests mingled in the marquee and posed for photos.

At the reception, a selection of prizes were also awarded to students across all degree programmes.

We would like to congratulate all our graduates on successfully completing their degrees and wish them all the best for the future.

Students can keep in touch by registering with the Cardiff University Alumni Network.

School of Earth and Ocean Science 2017 graduates

List of 2017 graduation prize-winners

  • Evan Llewelyn Davies Prize (Awarded for best performance in final year examinations) - Joseph Sutcliffe (BSc Geology), Harry Madeley (BSc Exploration and Resource Geology), Sophie Cox (MESci Geology) and Ada Kvadsheim (MESci Exploration and Resource Geology)
  • The Micropalaeontological Society Prize (Awarded to the student with best performance in Marine Microfossils) - Jessica Berry
  • Marine Geography Prize (Awarded for best performance in final year Marine Geography) - Lucianne Sarson and Premdeep Gill
  • Robert Kidd Prize (Awarded for best performance in Environmental Geosciences and Earth and Environmental Sciences) - Katherine Woolley (Environmental Geosciences) and Nicole Reily (Earth and Environmental Sciences)
  • Kelvin Rhodes Memorial Prize (Awarded for best BSc independent field-based report) - Luke Deamer (Geology), Harry Madeley (Exploration and Resource Geology), Matthew Trapp (Environmental Geosciences) and Elinor Sherlock (Earth and Environmental Sciences)
  • Adrian Cramp Prize (Awarded for excellence in marine and coastal research) - Lucy Arrowsmith
  • Livesey and Henderson Prize (Awarded for excellence in research into ocean resources management) - Sophie Thorbek and Jack Muldoon
  • Cox Medal (Outstanding and best performance in the graduating year) - Sophie Cox
  • Stephen Farrell Award (Awarded for the greatest contribution to the life of the School of Earth, Ocean and Planetary Sciences during the previous year) – Josh Ahmed

Rhannu’r stori hon