Ewch i’r prif gynnwys

Expanding in excellence: eight new members of academic staff appointed

17 Gorffennaf 2015

Eight new members of academic staff appointed

The School of Planning and Geography is pleased to announce the appointment of new members of staff joining in September 2015, with two scholars transferring from universities in Sweden and Germany.

The School has successfully recruited scholars on an international scale – Dr Anthony Ince, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, is joining from Stockholm University and Dr Johannes Novy, transferring from TU Cottbus, will join as Lecturer in Spatial Planning. All eight members of new staff will join the School later this summer before the start of the 2015-16 academic year.

Paul Milbourne, Head of School says: "I am delighted that these eight high calibre scholars are joining us. They will help to enhance our reputation by deepening and broadening our research and teaching interests."

The new positions also include three early career lectureships, one senior lectureship and two professorships in Human Geography. For these positions, the School of Planning and Geography recruited a high-quality cohort of scholars:

Dr Lisa Hill – Postdoctoral Research Assistant, University of Bristol;

Dr Andrew Williams – Associate Research Fellow, University of Exeter;

Dr Astrid Wood, Postdoctoral Fellow, Royal Holloway University of London;

Kersty Hobson – Senior Lecturer in Human Geography, University of Oxford.

And two chairs,

Dr Mark Jayne – Reader in Human Geography, University of Manchester;

Professor Gary Bridge – Professor of Urban Studies, University of Bristol.

"These eight new opportunities are designed to build upon other recent investments and to ensure that we continue to provide a vibrant and dynamic environment for research and teaching", Paul continues.

Rhannu’r stori hon