Skip to main content

Chinese proficiency tests

The Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi (HSK) is an international standardised examination that assesses non-native Chinese speakers’ abilities in using Mandarin Chinese language in their daily, academic and professional lives.

Cardiff Confucius Institute is an approved test centre for the HSK, also known as the Chinese Proficiency Tests.

The HSK consists of six levels, from HSK 1 (beginner) to HSK 6 (advanced).

Writing TestVocabularySpeaking Test
HSK (Level VI)Over 5,000HSKK (Advanced Level)
HSK (Level V)2500HSKK (Advanced Level)
HSK (Level IV)1200HSKK (Intermediate Level)
HSK (Level III)600HSKK (Intermediate Level)
HSK (Level II)300HSKK (Beginner Level)
HSK (Level I)150HSKK (Beginner Level)

For more information about how to register, test dates and fees please visit our International Language Qualifications page on the School of Modern Languages website. For general information, please visit the Chinese Testing website or the Hanban website.

If you have a more specific enquiry, please contact us.

Youth Chinese Test (YCT)

The YCT is the test specifically designed to assess young foreign students’ abilities to use Chinese in their daily and academic lives. It consists of a writing test and a speaking test, which are independent of each other. The writing test is divided into four levels and the speaking test has two levels.

Please contact us for more information about how to register, test dates and costs.

Cardiff Confucius Institute

General enquiries