Skip to main content

Data analytics and machine learning

We deal with the analysis and visualisation of complex data, development of machine learning algorithms and optimisation techniques.

The availability of large amounts of data - such as from databases, streams, or internet of things (IoT) devices - requires efficient methods for facilitating its analysis, categorisation, distribution, and visualisation.

The data analytics branch of our group addresses this challenge using ensemble and federated learning, approximation techniques, and optimised allocation of tasks in distributed computing environments.

The machine learning branch develops algorithms for the prediction and interpretation of diverse datasets ranging from medical images to video streams.

Aims

We aim to facilitate cooperation with research groups outside of the School of Computer Science.

There are two branches to our group.

Data analytics

Our work in data analytics largely focuses on efficient large scale implementation of machine learning models across distributed environment, and effective deployment of machine learning systems across various platforms:

  • Partitioning machine learning algorithms across distributed environments (such as cloud and IoT) for both real-time (stream processing) and batch learning.
  • Ensemble and federated learning across distributed systems platforms.
  • Container frameworks (such as Docker, Kubernetes) and in-network capability (such as Network Function Virtualisation and MiddleBox approaches) to support machine learning.
  • Approximation techniques to trade off accuracy and execution time (convergence time).

Machine learning

Our expertise in machine learning involves fundamental research on new algorithm development and applied research on solving real data rich problems to benefit economy and society:

  • Development of novelty detection / anomaly detection algorithms.
  • Development of algorithms for instance selection and datasets shift detection.
  • Development of semi-supervised learning algorithms in medical imaging data applications (such as MRI, microscopy).
  • Development of a machine learning toolbox.
  • Explainable machine learning for interpreting model results.
  • Application of machine learning to problems in healthcare, service industries, security, etc.

Lead researcher

Dr Yuhua Li

Dr Yuhua Li

Senior Lecturer

Email
liy180@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5317

Academic staff

Dr Crispin Cooper

Dr Crispin Cooper

Lecturer

Email
cooperch@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0) 29 2087 6072
Dr Federico Liberatore

Dr Federico Liberatore

Lecturer in Data & Knowledge Engineering

Email
liberatoref@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Catherine Teehan

Dr Catherine Teehan

Placements and employability lecturer

Email
teehanc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9091
Dr Alia Abdelmoty

Dr Alia Abdelmoty

Senior Lecturer

Email
abdelmotyai@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4751
Dr Jose Camacho Collados

Dr Jose Camacho Collados

Lecturer

Email
camachocolladosj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9108
Dr Alexia Zoumpoulaki

Dr Alexia Zoumpoulaki

Lecturer

Email
zoumpoulakia@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0052
Dr Daniela Tsaneva

Dr Daniela Tsaneva

Teaching Associate

Email
tsanevad1@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Padraig Corcoran

Dr Padraig Corcoran

Director, Data Science Academy
Senior Lecturer

Email
corcoranp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6996
Dr Andreas Artemiou

Dr Andreas Artemiou

Deputy Director, Data Science Academy
Reader

Email
artemioua@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0616
Professor Maggie Chen

Professor Maggie Chen

Personal Chair

Email
chenj60@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5523
Owen Jones

Owen Jones

Project Manager (COVID-19 Genomics)

Email
joneso27@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Maneesh Kumar

Professor Maneesh Kumar

Professor in Service Operations

Email
kumarm8@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5276
Dr Frank Langbein

Dr Frank Langbein

Senior Lecturer

Email
langbeinfc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0110
Dr Rhyd Lewis

Dr Rhyd Lewis

Reader

Email
lewisr9@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4856
Professor David Marshall

Professor David Marshall

Professor of Computer Vision

Email
marshallad@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5318
Sam Morgan

Sam Morgan

Data Assistant, WISERD

Email
morgans72@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Scott Orford

Professor Scott Orford

Professor in Spatial Analysis and GIS

Email
orfords@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5272
Professor Alun Preece

Professor Alun Preece

Professor of Intelligent Systems
Co-Director of the Security, Crime and Intelligence Innovation Institute
Deputy Head of School

Email
preecead@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4653
Dr Bahman Rostami-Tabar

Dr Bahman Rostami-Tabar

Reader in Management Science and Business Analytics

Email
rostami-tabarb@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0723
Professor Steven Schockaert

Professor Steven Schockaert

Professor

Email
schockaerts1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9109
Dr Mark Tuson

Dr Mark Tuson

Lecturer

Email
tusonm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4827
Dr Hywel Williams

Dr Hywel Williams

Senior Lecturer

Email
williamshj1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2074 2713

Postgraduate students

No profile image

Steven Arthur

Research student

Email
arthurs@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Harrison Taylor

Research student

Email
taylorh23@cardiff.ac.uk
alt

Lucy Maybury

Research student

Email
mayburyle@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Hakan Kayan

Research student

Email
kayanh@cardiff.ac.uk

Associated staff

Ahmet Aydin

Methodologist (ONS)

Alison Baily

International ML Group Coordinator (ONL)

Li Chen

Data Scientist (ONL)

Farzana Fatima Yousuf Patel

Data Scientist (ONL)

There are regular talks in the Artificial Intelligence and Data Analytics Seminar.

Joint seminars are held with the Machine Learning group at University of Waikato.