Skip to main content

People

Academic staff

Professor Paola Borri

Professor Paola Borri

Professor, Coordinator of the European Marie Curie ETN consortium MUSIQ

Email
borrip@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9356
Dr Philip Buckle

Dr Philip Buckle

Reader
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
bucklepd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0156
Dr Martin Elliott

Dr Martin Elliott

Honorary Senior Research Fellow

Email
martin.elliott@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5468
Professor Sean Giblin

Professor Sean Giblin

Joint Director of International
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
giblinsr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6277
Dr Bo Hou

Dr Bo Hou

Lecturer
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
houb6@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0756
Dr Sam Ladak

Dr Sam Ladak

Senior Lecturer
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
ladaks@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0157
Professor Wolfgang Langbein

Professor Wolfgang Langbein

Head of Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
langbeinww@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0172
Dr Qiang Li

Dr Qiang Li

Lecturer
Advanced Materials and Devices - Sêr Cymru Research Group
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
liq44@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4665
Dr Stephen A Lynch

Dr Stephen A Lynch

Associate Dean of Research
College of Physical Sciences and Engineering
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
lynchsa@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5315
Professor J Emyr Macdonald

Professor J Emyr Macdonald

Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Welsh speaking
Email
macdonald@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6766
Dr Clarence C Matthai

Dr Clarence C Matthai

Honorary Senior Research Fellow

Email
clarence.matthai@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5111
Dr Egor Muljarov

Dr Egor Muljarov

Reader
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
mulyarove@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0175
Professor Peter M Smowton

Professor Peter M Smowton

Head of School, Physics and Astronomy
Managing Director, Institute for Compound Semiconductors
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
smowtonpm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5997
Dr Juan Pereiro Viterbo

Dr Juan Pereiro Viterbo

Lecturer
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
pereiroviterboj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0933
Professor Oliver A Williams

Professor Oliver A Williams

Director of Research
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
williamso@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4978
Dr Sang Soon Oh

Dr Sang Soon Oh

Sêr Cymru Rising Star Fellow
Advanced Materials and Devices - Sêr Cymru Research Group
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
ohs2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0184
Dr Haiyao Deng

Dr Haiyao Deng

Lecturer

Email
dengh4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
029 2251 0180

Associated staff

David Billington

David Billington

Research Associate
Condensed Matter and Photonics

Email
billingtond1@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Tom Brien

Dr Tom Brien

Research Associate
Astronomy Instrumentation Research Group

Email
tom.brien@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6269
Dr Jerome Cuenca

Dr Jerome Cuenca

Research Associate
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
cuencaj@cardiff.ac.uk
Sara-Jayne Gillgrass

Sara-Jayne Gillgrass

Research Associate
Condensed Matter and Photonics

Email
gillgrasss@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr David Hayes

Dr David Hayes

Research Associate
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
hayesd3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2082 0197
Matthew Hunt

Matthew Hunt

Research Associate
Condensed Matter and Photonics

Email
huntmo@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Soumen Mandal

Dr Soumen Mandal

Research Associate
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
mandals2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2082 0197
Dr Sam Rowe

Dr Sam Rowe

Research Associate
Astronomy Instrumentation Group

Email
sam.rowe@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0047
Dr Samuel Shutts

Dr Samuel Shutts

Research Fellow
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email
shuttss@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 22510267
Dr Rashmikant Sudiwala

Dr Rashmikant Sudiwala

Senior Research Associate
Astronomy Instrumentation Group

Email
r.sudiwala@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5469
Dr Yongkang Gong

Dr Yongkang Gong

Postdoctoral Research Associate, Research
Advanced Materials and Devices - Sêr Cymru Research Group

Email
gongy10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0182

Postgraduate students

No profile image

Tahani Albiladi

Research student

Email
albiladitr@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Reem Alharbi

Research student

Email
alharbirs@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Thomas Allcock

Research student

Email
allcockt@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Joseph Askey

Research student

Email
askeyjw@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Henry Bland

Research student

Email
blandha@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Lewis Edwards

Research student

Email
edwardslt@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Alex Evans

Research student

Email
evansad2@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Dunia Giliyana

Research student

Email
giliyanadd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5316
No profile image

Alaa Hejazi

Research student

Email
hejazia@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Matyo Ivanov

Research student

Email
ivanovm@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Lydia Jarvis

Research student

Email
jarvislk@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

William Leigh

Research student

Email
leighwg@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Rhiannon Lunney

Research student

Email
lunneyra@cardiff.ac.uk
Benjamin Maglio

Benjamin Maglio

Research student

Email
magliob2@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Scott Manifold

Research student

Email
manifolds@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Andrew May

Research student

Email
maya1@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Eben Muse

Research student

Email
museem@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Sam Neale

Research student

Email
nealest@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Edward Riordan

Research student

Email
riordane@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Thomas Robinson

Research student

Email
robinsont7@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Majdi Salman

Research student

Email
salmanm2@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Amber Wassell

Research student

Email
wassellam1@cardiff.ac.uk
Stephan Wong

Stephan Wong

Research student

Email
wongs18@cardiff.ac.uk
Zeeshan Ahmad

Zeeshan Ahmad

Research student

Email
ahmadz5@cardiff.ac.uk