Skip to main content

Honours and awards

Our academics have been recognised for their achievements and contribution to the field of Optometry and Vision Sciences.

The following awards and accolades recognise that our researchers are leading the way in shaping vision science and optometry teaching in the UK and abroad.

Professor Marcela Votruba, elected as a Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales.

The Learned Society of Wales (LSW) is an independent, all-Wales, self-governing, pan-discipline educational charity. Wales’s first national academy of science and letters, the Society was established in 2010, and draws upon the considerable strengths of over 400 distinguished Fellows based in Wales, the UK and beyond. The society provides public benefit including expert scholarly advice on a variety of public policy issues related to science, engineering, medicine, arts, humanities and social sciences.

Dr Maggie Woodhouse, Queen's Anniversary Prize

Dr Maggie Woodhouse of Cardiff University’s Down’s Syndrome Vision Research Unit has been awarded the UK’s most prestigious academic award – a Queen’s Anniversary Prize – for her pioneering research and treatment of vision problems in children with Down’s syndrome.

Professor Rachel North, Life Fellow, College of Optometrists

The College of Optometrists has elected three new Life Fellows, one of which was Professor Rachel North, in recognition of her contribution to optometric education and international optometric research, and her leading role in the development of Vision Aid Overseas. Fellowship of the College is awarded to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the profession or to the College.

The award was presented to Prof. North at the annual Diploma Ceremony on Tuesday 4 November 2014 in Central Hall, Westminster, where the College also celebrated the achievements of its members through the award of Higher Diplomas and Research Excellence Awards, and welcoming newly qualified optometrists to the profession.

Dr Maggie Woodhouse, OBE

Dr Maggie Woodhouse was awarded an OBE for services to Optometry and Services to people with disabilities. For the past 25 years, Dr Woodhouse has worked with children and adults with learning disabilities, especially Down's syndrome, providing eye care and studying their visual development and visual problems. She introduced 'special needs optometry' to the undergraduate curriculum and to optometric practice. She also developed tests and techniques to allow people with limited communication to take part in a full eye examination.

The Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) Fellows

We are fortunate to have two ARVO Silver Fellows. Professor Keith Meek and Professor Andrew Quantock have been given this honour, which recognises long and dedicated service to the international eye research community and the efforts of its largest society, the Washington-based ARVO.

Professor Keith Meek, Pearce Medal

Professor Keith Meek became the first non-ophthalmologist to be awarded the prestigious Pearce medal from the United Kingdom and Ireland Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons. It was awarded to Professor Meek for his "considerable contribution to Ophthalmology". The award is named after the late John Pearce who was the first Ophthalmic surgeon seriously to review the idea of posterior chamber intraocular lens implantation and who went on to invent the Pearce tripod lens.