Ewch i’r prif gynnwys

The School of Chemistry welcomes new staff members Dr Emma Carter and Dr Tim Easun

5 Mai 2015

Timothy Easun Emma Carter

The School of Chemistry is very pleased to welcome two new members onto the academic staff. Dr Emma Carter and Dr Tim Easun join the School as University Research Fellows.

Dr Emma Carter obtained her first degree from the University of Bath before moving to Cardiff, where she obtained her PhD in the field of Electron Paramagnetic Resonance (EPR) spectroscopy. Emma was a senior Postdoctoral Research Associate in the School before her recent appointment to the fellowship position. Her research interests focus on using EPR and associated hyperfine methodologies. Studying electron transfer processes in condensed matter materials of importance in visible-light activated catalysis, and elucidating the nature of transition metal active sites in metalloenzymes and bioinorganic systems.

Dr Tim Easun was awarded his first degree from the University of Nottingham and then moved to the University of Sheffield for his PhD. He then returned to Nottingham to take up a series of postdoctoral positions, holding titles of Inorganic Teaching Fellow and then Senior Research Officer, before joining Cardiff. His research targets the use of photochemistry to control molecular flow in microporous materials in order to make functional nanofluidic devices. This involves the functionalisation of crystalline porous materials, specifically using thermally and photochemically active components to control framework properties and direct guest uptake and release.

Drs Carter and Easun are just the most recent of a number of newly appointed academic staff as the School continues to grow; opening up new research opportunities and delivering enhanced student experience and excellence in teaching.

Rhannu’r stori hon