Skip to main content

Charter, Statutes and Ordinances

The constitutional framework within which we operate is based upon our Charter, Statutes and Ordinances.

The Charter, first granted in 1884, sets out the purpose and powers of the University. The Statutes amplify the Charter and both the Charter and the Statutes are approved by the Privy Council on behalf of Her Majesty the Queen.

Ordinances support the Charter and Statutes and are created and approved by the Council. Other regulations may be created and approved by Council or by other committees on delegated authority from the Council.


The Charter defines the objects, powers and officers of the University. Embodied within it are fundamental principles such as the University's power to teach, examine, carry out research and award degrees.


The Statutes contain details of the members of the University, officers, and rules concerning statutory bodies.


The Ordinances give practical details concerning the way in which the University is governed within the general framework of the Charter and Statutes, particularly the terms of reference of its committees.

Standing panels and sub-committees

These provide the compositions and terms of reference for the following Standing Panels and Sub-Committees: Academic Promotions Committee; Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee; Honorary Fellowships & Degrees Committee; Health, Safety and Wellbeing Sub-Committee; University Awards and Progress Committee; Open Research Integrity & Ethics Committee; College Annual Review and Enhancement (ARE) Committees; Programme and Partner Standing Panel