Nobel Laureates

Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for peace.

The Nobel Prize is an international award administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden.

Professor Sir Martin Evans

Professor Sir Martin Evans

Nobel Prize in Medicine

In 2007 Professor Sir Martin Evans from the School of Biosciences was awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine for a series of ground-breaking discoveries concerning embryonic stem cells and DNA recombination in mammals.

Sir Martin was the first scientist to identify embryonic stem cells, which can be adapted for a wide variety of medical purposes. His discoveries are now being applied in virtually all areas of biomedicine – from basic research to the development of new therapies.

Professor Sir Martin Evans was appointed president of the University in 2009 and became our Chancellor in 2012.

Read more about Sir Martin Evans and his Nobel Prize.

Professor Robert Huber

Professor Robert Huber

Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Professor Robert Huber was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1988 for the determination of the three-dimensional structure of a photosynthetic reaction centre.

He was one of three winners for being the first to succeed in unraveling the full details of how a membrane-bound protein is built up, revealing the structure of the molecule atom by atom.

Professor Huber joined the University in 2007 to spearhead the development of Chemical Biology at Cardiff on a part-time basis - a joint initiative between the Schools of Chemistry and Biosciences.