Skip to content

Education Research Group

The Education Research Group (ERG) covers a wide range of research interests and disciplinary areas that address the needs of and demands on education in contemporary societies around the world.

The aim of the ERG is to facilitate debate and discussion on different aspects of education and promote research collaboration.

Principal areas of interest include the development of education and skills policy and policy outcomes, situated learning (from the nursery and classroom, through to college, university and the workplace), the structures and organisation of and participation in education and training, and the multi-faceted relationships between education, children, adults, families, communities, work and government and non-government institutions.

Aims

The Education Research Group meets regularly throughout the academic year with the aim of:

  • Establishing an agenda for developing a coherent research strategy and set of research objectives organised around the interests mentioned above.
  • Bringing researchers together, from across SOCSI, who share an interest in education research.

Education staff research interests include:

  • Technology enhanced learning;
  • Faith-based education;
  • Children and young people;
  • Early years education;
  • Gender and sexuality;
  • Power and identity;
  • Education and social inequalities;
  • Education policy, school choice and diversity;
  • The political economy of skill and skills policy;
  • 'Green' skills;
  • Higher education policy and participation;
  • Professionalism, learning cultures and policy in further education;
  • Curriculum innovation and creative teaching;
  • Training policies and practices;
  • Work-related learning;
  • The construction of knowledge and processes of learning;
  • The global context of education;
  • Theories of education and the moral and political imperatives of education;
  • The geography of education;
  • Education and neighbourhoods;

Academic staff

Professor Chris Taylor

Professor Chris Taylor

Academic Director, SPARK

Email:
taylorcm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 29208 76938
Professor Sally Power

Professor Sally Power

WISERD Director, Director of WISERD Education

Email:
powers3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2087 4738
Professor Amanda Coffey

Professor Amanda Coffey

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Student Experience and Academic Standards

Email:
coffey@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0657
Dr Jane Salisbury

Dr Jane Salisbury

Honorary Senior Lecturer

Email:
salisburyj@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Katy Greenland

Dr Katy Greenland

Reader

Email:
greenlandk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 29208 75379
Professor Paul Chaney

Professor Paul Chaney

WISERD Co-Director

Email:
chaneyp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4459
Dr Sara Delamont

Dr Sara Delamont

Reader

Email:
delamont@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0119
Professor Phillip Brown

Professor Phillip Brown

Distinguished Research Professor

Email:
brownp1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4157
Dr Steven Stanley

Dr Steven Stanley

Senior Lecturer

Email:
stanleys1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2068 7597
Professor Bella Dicks

Professor Bella Dicks

Professor in Sociology

Email:
dicksb@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 29208 75231
Professor Alan Felstead

Professor Alan Felstead

Research Professor

Welsh speaking
Email:
alanfelstead@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2087 9050
Professor Caroline Lloyd

Professor Caroline Lloyd

Professor

Email:
lloydc4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 29208 70397