Skip to main content

Centre for Medieval Studies

We promote interdisciplinary study of the Middle Ages by bringing together specialists from several different subject areas to collaborate in research and graduate teaching.

Promoting interdisciplinary study of the Middle Ages by bringing together specialists from several different subject areas within Cardiff University to collaborate in research and graduate teaching.

We aim to promote interdisciplinary study of the Middle Ages, bringing together specialists from several different subject areas within the University to collaborate in high-quality research and graduate teaching. Members of the Centre include staff and postgraduate students from the Schools of History, Archaeology and Religious Studies, English, Communication and Philosophy and Welsh.

We run a regular programme of research seminars, providing a focus for collaboration and discussion as well as an opportunity to bring scholars to the University from overseas. Our academic and social events are open to, and well supported by, non-University medievalists in the region.

Please check back for our programme of events for Autumn 2021.

Academic staff

Dr Jenny Benham

Dr Jenny Benham

Lecturer in Medieval History

Email
benhamj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5648
Dr David Callander

Dr David Callander

Lecturer

Welsh speaking
Email
callanderd@caerdydd.ac.uk
Professor Martin Coyle

Professor Martin Coyle

Emeritus Professor

Email
coylemj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5615
Professor Sioned Davies

Professor Sioned Davies

Emerita Professor

Welsh speaking
Email
daviessm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5321
Dr Rob Gossedge

Dr Rob Gossedge

Dean of Postgraduate Studies for the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, Senior Lecturer

Email
gossedgera@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5618
Professor John Hines

Professor John Hines

Professor of Archaeology

Email
hines@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4736
Dr Ben Jervis

Dr Ben Jervis

Senior Lecturer in Archaeology

Email
jervisb@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5611
Dr Bronach Kane

Dr Bronach Kane

Senior Lecturer in Medieval History

Email
kaneb@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5620
Dr Alan Lane

Dr Alan Lane

Senior Lecturer in Archaeology

Email
lanea@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5627
Dr Megan Leitch

Dr Megan Leitch

Reader

Email
leitchm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0406
Dr Eve MacDonald

Dr Eve MacDonald

Lecturer in Ancient History

Email
macdonaldg1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9682
Professor Carl Phelpstead

Professor Carl Phelpstead

Professor

Email
phelpsteadc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4245
Dr Sara Pons-Sanz

Dr Sara Pons-Sanz

Reader

Email
pons-sanzs@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6128
Professor Shaun Tougher

Professor Shaun Tougher

Professor of Late Roman and Byzantine History

Email
toughersf@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6228
Dr Paul Webster

Dr Paul Webster

Exploring the Past Coordinator

Email
websterp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5610
Dr David Wyatt

Dr David Wyatt

Reader in Early Medieval History, Civic Mission and Innovation Lead

Email
wyattd1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0404