Skip to main content

Central and East European Research Centre

Promoting and supporting research into Central and Eastern Europe at Cardiff University.

We promote and support research into Central and Eastern Europe at Cardiff University.

Engaging with the wider world, linking Cardiff-based research on Central and Eastern Europe, including Russia and Ukraine, with public impact and policy.

SOS Ukraine

You may wish to donate to a charity working in Ukraine, among others:

If you are a scholar at risk, please see the following:

Featured news

Academic staff

Dr Maria Brock

Dr Maria Brock

Research Associate

Email
brockm2@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor David Clarke

Professor David Clarke

Head of School and Professor in Modern German Studies

Email
clarked4@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Oleg Golubchikov

Dr Oleg Golubchikov

Reader in Human Geography, Director of Postgraduate Research

Email
golubchikovo@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9310
Dr Jaclyn Granick

Dr Jaclyn Granick

Lecturer in Modern Jewish History (Study Leave to 2023/4)

Email
granickj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 1741
Professor Mary Heimann

Professor Mary Heimann

Professor of Modern History (Study Leave 2021/2)

Email
heimannm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5157
Dr Lynne Humphrey

Dr Lynne Humphrey

Lecturer in German History

Email
humphreyl1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 2379
Dr Galina Miazhevich

Dr Galina Miazhevich

Senior Lecturer

Email
miazhevichg@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0644
Dr Steve Mills

Dr Steve Mills

Senior Lecturer in IT Applications

Email
millssf1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5655
Dr Tetyana Pavlush

Dr Tetyana Pavlush

Lecturer in Modern European History

Email
pavlusht@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 2380
Professor Jiri Priban

Professor Jiri Priban

Professor of Law

Email
priban@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6819
Professor Sergey Radchenko

Professor Sergey Radchenko

Professor of International Relations

Dr Flora Roberts

Dr Flora Roberts

Lecturer in Environmental History

Email
robertsf5@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6219
Dr James Ryan

Dr James Ryan

Senior Lecturer in Modern European (Russian) History, Director of International

Email
ryanj5@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6511
Dr Liba Sheeran

Dr Liba Sheeran

Reader: Physiotherapy

Email
sheeranl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 206 87757
Dr Yulia Shenderovich

Dr Yulia Shenderovich

Senior Lecturer, DECIPHer

Email
shenderovichy@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0695
Dr Gerwin Strobl

Dr Gerwin Strobl

Reader in History

Email
stroblg@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5653
Professor Robert van Deursen

Professor Robert van Deursen

Professor of Rehabilitation Science

Email
vandeursenr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 206 87687

Past events

How to overcome the difficult past? Reflections on the Polish-Ukrainian relationship in the 20th century and today

Date: Thursday 9 June 2022

A webinar with guest speaker, Dr Paweł Duber (Nottingham Trent University), co-hosted by the History and Heritage research theme the School of Modern Languages and the Central and East European Research Group at Cardiff University.

Watch a recording of the event on YouTube

Ukraine Question and Answer session

Date: Monday 21 March 2022

Ukraine update and question and answer with the Central and East European Research Group.

Crisis in Ukraine - Information and Question and Answer Session

Date: Monday 7 March 2022

Those of us with expertise in and personal connections to the region (Ukraine, Russia, and the former Soviet Union and Eastern Bloc) will not be able to provide comprehensive answers to all the questions you may have.

Few experts predicted that this invasion would happen, and nobody knows what the outcome will be. We may, however, be able to provide some context, background and understanding, from a variety of specialisms and perspectives.