Skip to main content

Cardiff Fintech Research Group

We aim to become an internationally leading institute that promotes interdisciplinary and innovative Fintech research.

Financial technology (Fintech) combines innovative business models and computer technology to improve financial service. Since its emergence, it brings a wave of creative destruction that substantially changes the landscape of finance and have significant implications for the economy.

For example, the sudden rise of cryptocurrencies (eg Bitcoin), which compete with the fiat currencies and disrupt the existing payment system, poses great challenges to central banks and commercial banks.

Aims

  • Raise Cardiff Business School’s reputation as a national and international centre for Fintech research.
  • Facilitate cross-disciplinary Fintech research among members of the research group and across sections and schools.
  • Engage in innovative and industrially relevant research and provide our expertise to public and private sectors in Wales and beyond.

Our members’ research interests in Fintech include:

  • Cryptocurrencies
  • Blockchain
  • Banking (eg digital banking, open banking)
  • Insurance (insuretech)
  • Personal Finance (eg robo-advisors)
  • Payments (digital payment systems)
  • Lending (crowdfunding, P2P lending etc.)
  • Capital Markets (algorithmic and high frequency trading)
  • Wealth Management
  • Machine Learning and AI
  • Computer-assisted Textual Analysis

Selected publications

Academic staff

Professor Arman Eshraghi

Professor Arman Eshraghi

Professor of Finance and Investment

Email
eshraghia@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0880
Dr Qingwei Wang

Dr Qingwei Wang

Reader in Finance

Email
wangq30@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5514
Professor Maggie Chen

Professor Maggie Chen

Personal Chair

Email
chenj60@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5523
Dr Wenjie Ding

Dr Wenjie Ding

Lecturer in Finance

Email
dingw@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0311
Dr Izidin El Kalak

Dr Izidin El Kalak

Lecturer in Finance

Email
elkalaki@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4961
Dr Dudley Gilder

Dr Dudley Gilder

Lecturer in Accounting and Finance

Email
gilderd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5561
Professor Saeed Heravi

Professor Saeed Heravi

Professor in Quantitative Methods

Email
heravis@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5787
Dr Hossein Jahanshahloo

Dr Hossein Jahanshahloo

Lecturer in Finance

Email
jahanshahlooh@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0768
Dr Anqi Liu

Dr Anqi Liu

Lecturer in Financial Mathematics

Email
liua5@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29208 70908
Dr Peter Morgan

Dr Peter Morgan

Reader in Quantitative Analysis

Email
morganph@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5727
Dr Oksana Pryshchepa

Dr Oksana Pryshchepa

Lecturer in Finance

Email
pryshchepao@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6542
Dr Onur Kemal Tosun

Dr Onur Kemal Tosun

Lecturer in Finance

Email
tosuno@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4517
Dr Yingli Wang

Dr Yingli Wang

Reader in Logistics and Operations Management

Email
wangy14@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5066

Associated staff

Dr Andrew Urquhart

Associate Professor of Finance, ICMA Centre

Dr Felix Irresberger

Associate Professor of Financial Technology, Leeds University Business School

Dr Larisa Yarovaya

Lecturer in Finance, University of Southampton