Skip to main content

Applied and Computational Mathematics Research Group

Our research in applied and computational mathematics includes: theoretical and applied fluid mechanics, mathematics and mechanics of solids, mathematical biology, applied analysis, and numerical analysis and scientific computing.

Our research in the area of applied and computational mathematics is informed by problems at the interface with physical sciences, biological sciences and engineering and there are many productive interdisciplinary collaborations within Cardiff University and further afield.

Our national and international collaborators include research groups at Imperial, Oxford, Cambridge, Warwick, Swansea, Canberra, Curtin (Perth), Perth, Delft, Northwestern, Ljubljana and Montréal.

The group hosts the Cardiff University Student Chapter of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics and the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications (SIAM-IMA Student Chapter) which encompasses postgraduate students and faculty members from across the University who are interested in mathematics or scientific computing and their real-world applications.

The main areas of research within the current group are:

Theoretical and applied fluid mechanics

Free-surface flows, dynamics of liquid films and jets, hydrodynamic stability theory, laminar-turbulent transition mechanisms, boundary-layer and wake flow instabilities, boundary layer flow control, viscoelastic flows, bubble dynamics, constitutive modelling of polymeric liquids.

Mathematics and mechanics of solids

Nonlinear elasticity, contact problems, limit states analysis, constitutive modelling in materials science.

Mathematical biology

The development of mathematical, computational and statistical methods to address biological and medical problems.

Applied analysis

Inverse problems in materials modelling, homogenisation and the mechanics of composites.

Numerical analysis and scientific computing

The development of algorithms for the numerical solution of partial differential applications.

Head of Group

Professor Tim Phillips

Professor Tim Phillips

Chair in Applied Mathematics

Email
phillipstn@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4194

Academic staff

Dr Mikhail Cherdantsev

Dr Mikhail Cherdantsev

Senior Lecturer

Email
cherdantsevm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5549
Professor Russell Davies

Professor Russell Davies

Honorary Distinguished Professor

Email
daviesr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4827
Dr Usama Kadri

Dr Usama Kadri

Senior Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

Email
kadriu@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
029 208 75863
Dr Katerina Kaouri

Dr Katerina Kaouri

Senior Lecturer

Email
kaourik@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5259
Dr Angela Mihai

Dr Angela Mihai

Reader in Applied Mathematics

Email
mihaila@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor John Pryce

Professor John Pryce

Emeritus Professor

Email
prycejd1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4207
Dr Thomas Woolley

Dr Thomas Woolley

Senior Lecturer

Email
woolleyt1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0618
Dr Maciej Buze

Dr Maciej Buze

Research Associate

Email
buzem@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0617
Dr Alexander Pretty

Dr Alexander Pretty

Teaching Associate

Email
prettya@cardiff.ac.uk
Thomas Barker

Thomas Barker

Lecturer

Email
barkert1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29225 13201
Dr Yasemin Sengul Tezel

Dr Yasemin Sengul Tezel

Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

Email
sengultezely@cardiff.ac.uk

Postgraduate students

Byron Williams

Byron Williams

Research student

Email
williamsb33@cardiff.ac.uk