Skip to main content

Journalism graduates top the Wales Media Awards shortlist

20 February 2017

Broadcaster Dermot Murnaghan
The Awards will be hosted by broadcaster Dermot Murnaghan.

The Wales Media Awards 2017 shortlist is packed with alumni from the School of Journalism, Media and Cultural Studies’ Centre for Journalism.

Nine of the 13 categories for individual journalists feature at least one Centre for Journalism graduate. Five shortlisted categories including Feature Writer, Online News Reporter and Sports Journalist each have two.

The shortlisted Cardiff University alumni are: Lucy Ballinger, Jordan Wayne Davies, Omkar Khandekar, Tyler Ashleigh Mears, Ruth Mosalski, Rob Osborne, Gemma Parry, Liz Perkins, Dafydd Islwyn Pritchard, Katie Sands, Huw Thomas, Chris Wathan and David Williamson.

Professor Richard Sambrook, Director of the Centre for Journalism said: "We are delighted that the Welsh Media awards, which celebrate the best of Welsh journalism, have shortlisted so many of our alumni.

“We believe this is testimony to the high editorial standards we seek to instil in our students and we wish them much success."

The Centre for Journalism is home to the School’s postgraduate taught Broadcast, Magazine and News journalism courses, the latter of which secured the award for top performing National Council for the Training of Journalists (NCTJ) postgraduate journalism course in 2016.

The Centre for Journalism is recognised globally as a leading provider of journalism education and training and its graduates can be found in local and national media around the world.

The awards will be presented at a prestigious black tie Ceremony at the Mercure Holland House Hotel, Cardiff on 31 March 2017.

Share this story

For more information about our research, courses and staff visit our School website.