Skip to main content

Tackling gender inequality

10 May 2018

The School of Medicine has received an Athena SWAN Bronze Award in recognition of its commitment to tackling gender inequality.

The Athena SWAN Charter is a recognition scheme for UK universities who are working to advance gender equality and the representation of women in academia. It was originally set up to recognise equality in science, technology, engineering, medicine and mathematics (STEMM) fields but has now expanded to also recognise work undertaken in arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law (AHSSBL), as well as in professional and support roles, and for trans staff and students.

Awards are granted to organisations who can demonstrate increasing levels of good practice in recruiting, retaining and promoting women in these areas. The University’s School of Social Sciences also received a Bronze Award in this round.

The School of Medicine received its award by ensuring all staff had a voice through local committees that took ownership for implementing tailored action plans to advance gender parity in career development. Key initiatives supported the promotion process with implementation of mentoring circles, and Medic Professional Services provided support for professional Support Services staff.

Dr Anna Hurley, School Manager at the School of Medicine, said: “Our Athena SWAN Bronze Award is tremendously positive for the School, and is thanks to all our staff and students for embracing our vision and making it happen...

Professor Siladitya Bhattacharya, who took up the role of Head of the School of Medicine this month, added: “I am delighted to be joining the University at this time and very much look forward to leading the School of Medicine as we continue to operationalise our ambitious initiatives, working towards a culture where everyone has the opportunity to thrive and develop.”

In addition to the two new awards, a University-wide Bronze Award was received in 2009, which was renewed in 2014. Currently there are two Silver and twelve Bronze award-holding Academic Schools:


  • Biosciences
  • Psychology


  • Business
  • Social Sciences
  • Dentistry
  • Healthcare Sciences
  • Optometry and Vision Sciences
  • Medicine
  • Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science and Informatics
  • Earth and Environmental Sciences
  • Engineering
  • Maths

Share this story

Information on how we work to meet our legal and moral obligations as they apply to equality and diversity.