Skip to main content

Academic staff

Professor Stuart Allan

Professor Stuart Allan

Professor of Journalism and Communication

Email
allans@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 208 74509
Dr Tom Allbeson

Dr Tom Allbeson

Senior Lecturer in Media History

Email
allbesont@cardiff.ac.uk
Gavin Allen

Gavin Allen

Digital Journalism Lecturer

Email
alleng3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29225 11351
Iolo ap Dafydd

Iolo ap Dafydd

Broadcast Lecturer

Welsh speaking
Email
apdafyddi@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
029 2087 4756
Dr Lucy Bennett

Dr Lucy Bennett

Lecturer in Media Audiences (Teaching and Research)

Email
bennettl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0789
Jane Bentley

Jane Bentley

Course Director MA Magazine Journalism

Email
bentleyje@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 208 74681
Dr Mike Berry

Dr Mike Berry

Senior Lecturer

Email
berrym1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 70630
Professor Paul Bowman

Professor Paul Bowman

Deputy Head of School and Professor of Cultural Studies

Email
bowmanp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 76797
Dr Damian Carney

Dr Damian Carney

Senior Lecturer Media Law (Teaching and Research)

Email
carneyd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 208 74186
Dr Cynthia Carter

Dr Cynthia Carter

Reader

Email
cartercl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6172
Ross Clarke

Ross Clarke

Lecturer in Magazine Journalism

Email
clarkerw@cardiff.ac.uk
Sali Collins

Sali Collins

Senior Lecturer

Welsh speaking
Email
collinss5@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 20870888
Professor Simon Cottle

Professor Simon Cottle

Professor Emeritus Media and Communication

Email
cottles@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 74506
Professor Stephen Cushion

Professor Stephen Cushion

Director of Postgraduate Research

Email
cushionsa@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 74570
Professor Lina Dencik

Professor Lina Dencik

Professor

Email
dencikl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5461
Cathy Duncan

Cathy Duncan

Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)

Email
duncanc2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)2922511389
Naomi Dunstan

Naomi Dunstan

Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)

Email
dunstann@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 20876098
Dr Inaki Garcia-Blanco

Dr Inaki Garcia-Blanco

Senior Lecturer (Teaching and Research)

Email
garcia-blancoi@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 208 76077
Dr Ross Garner

Dr Ross Garner

Lecturer

Email
garnerrp1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5475
Gwenfair Griffith

Gwenfair Griffith

Lecturer

Welsh speaking
Email
griffithg@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6843
Dr Hugh Griffiths

Dr Hugh Griffiths

Lecturer in Public Relations

Email
griffithshn@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr David Dunkley Gyimah

Dr David Dunkley Gyimah

Senior Lecturer

Email
gyimahd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0100
James Hale

James Hale

Technical Demonstrator

Email
halej6@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Hannah Hamad

Dr Hannah Hamad

Senior Lecturer Media and Communication

Email
hamadh2@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Ian Hargreaves

Professor Ian Hargreaves

Emeritus Professor in the School of Journalism, Media and Culture

Email
hargreavesi@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 74633
Dr Janet Harris

Dr Janet Harris

Senior Lecturer

Email
harrisj14@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 208 76279
Michael Hill

Michael Hill

Lecturer

Email
hillm10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6185
Dr Arne Hintz

Dr Arne Hintz

Reader

Email
hintza@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 76281
Timothy Holmes

Timothy Holmes

Reader Emeritus

Email
holmesta@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 74572
Nicola Hooper

Nicola Hooper

Lecturer and Deputy Course Director

Email
hoopern@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Ceri Hughes

Dr Ceri Hughes

Research Associate

Email
hughesc29@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Savyasaachi Jain

Dr Savyasaachi Jain

Senior Lecturer Journalism and Documentary

Email
jains23@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0782
Dr John Jewell

Dr John Jewell

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Email
jewellj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5331
Dr César Jiménez-Martínez

Dr César Jiménez-Martínez

Lecturer Global Media and Communications

Email
jimenezmartinezc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29225 10214
Rachael Jolley

Rachael Jolley

Lecturer in Magazine Journalism

Email
jolleyr@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Jenny Kidd

Dr Jenny Kidd

Reader and Director of Postgraduate Research

Email
kiddjc2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 74489
Dr Susan Kinnear

Dr Susan Kinnear

Director of the Centre for Journalism and Public Communication

Email
kinnears@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Jenny Kitzinger

Professor Jenny Kitzinger

Director of Research: Impact and Engagement and Co-Director of the Coma and Disorders of Consciousness Research Centre

Email
kitzingerj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 74571
Professor Justin Lewis

Professor Justin Lewis

Professor of Communication

Email
lewisj2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 76341
Dr Chen-Yu Lin

Dr Chen-Yu Lin

Lecturer in Creative and Cultural Industries

Email
linc37@cardiff.ac.uk
Sian Morgan Lloyd

Sian Morgan Lloyd

Senior Lecturer

Welsh speaking
Email
lloydsm5@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6843
Sandra Loy

Sandra Loy

Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)

Email
loys1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29208 76183
Sharon Magill

Sharon Magill

Technical Demonstrator

Email
magillse@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 70678
Emma Meese

Emma Meese

Director of Community Journalism

Welsh speaking
Email
meesee@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 70101
Dr Galina Miazhevich

Dr Galina Miazhevich

Senior Lecturer

Email
miazhevichg@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0644
Dr Kerry Moore

Dr Kerry Moore

Senior Lecturer

Email
moorek4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 76199
Nick Mosdell

Nick Mosdell

Deputy Director MA International Public Relations and Global Communications Management

Email
mosdelln1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 70102
Dr Caitriona Noonan

Dr Caitriona Noonan

Senior Lecturer

Email
noonanc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 20874187
Dr Aidan O'Donnell

Dr Aidan O'Donnell

Lecturer Data Journalism (Teaching and Scholarship)

Email
odonnella4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 76048
Tony O'Shaughnessy

Tony O'Shaughnessy

Lecturer, Broadcast Journalism

Email
oshaughnessya@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 74172
Dr Alida Payson

Dr Alida Payson

Lecturer (Teaching and Research)

Email
paysonab@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Elliot Pill

Dr Elliot Pill

Reader

Email
pille@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 70138
Professor Richard Sambrook

Professor Richard Sambrook

Emeritus Professor

Email
sambrookrj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 70982
Nick Skinner

Nick Skinner

Teacher - TV Camera Operation

Email
skinnern3@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Francesca Sobande

Dr Francesca Sobande

Senior Lecturer in Digital Media Studies

Email
sobandef@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29225 11352
Matt Swaine

Matt Swaine

Senior Lecturer and Course Director, MA International Journalism

Email
swainem@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9308
Professor Richard Tait

Professor Richard Tait

Professor of Journalism

Email
taitr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 1345
James Taylor

James Taylor

Technical Demonstrator

Email
taylorj39@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0160
Richard Thomas

Richard Thomas

Lecturer in Public Relations

Email
thomasr144@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Emiliano Treré

Dr Emiliano Treré

Reader in Data Agency and Media Ecologies

Email
treree@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0736
Professor Karin Wahl-Jorgensen

Professor Karin Wahl-Jorgensen

University Dean of Research Environment and Culture

Email
wahl-jorgensenk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 79414
Dr Catherine Walsh

Dr Catherine Walsh

Lecturer

Email
walshc9@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2252 0733
Matt Walsh

Matt Walsh

Head of School

Email
walshm8@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29208 79916
Andrew Weeks

Andrew Weeks

Lecturer

Email
weeksa3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6843
Dr Carrie Westwater

Dr Carrie Westwater

Lecturer (Teaching and Research)

Email
westwaterca1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
07447 454 603
Dr Andy Williams

Dr Andy Williams

Senior Lecturer

Email
williamsa28@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 208 70088
Simon Williams

Simon Williams

Lecturer

Email
williamssj6@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8834