Skip to main content

Research Staff

Our researchers work on a wide variety of cancer-related themes, ranging from cancer stem cell research in pancreatic cancer to understanding the link between diet and cancer.

Professor Matt Smalley

Professor Matt Smalley

Professor, Director European Cancer Stem Cell Research Institute (ECSCRI)

Email
smalleymj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5862
Dr Richard Clarkson

Dr Richard Clarkson

Reader

Email
clarksonr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0249
Dr Fernando Anjos-Afonso

Dr Fernando Anjos-Afonso

Research Fellow

Email
dosanjosafonsof@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8511
Dr Catherine Hogan

Dr Catherine Hogan

Research Fellow

Email
hoganc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8505
Dr Lee Parry

Dr Lee Parry

Research Fellow

Email
parryl3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8017
Dr Florian Siebzehnrubl

Dr Florian Siebzehnrubl

Research Fellow, European Cancer Stem Cell Research Institute, School of  Biosciences

Email
fas@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8500
Dr Neil Rodrigues

Dr Neil Rodrigues

Reader

Email
rodriguesn@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8507
Dr Helen Pearson

Dr Helen Pearson

Senior Research Fellow

Email
pearsonh2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8517
Dr Toby Phesse

Dr Toby Phesse

Senior Research Fellow

Email
phesset@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8495
Dr Girish Patel

Dr Girish Patel

Honorary Senior Lecturer, NISCHR Research Fellow and Consultant Dermatologist

Email
patelgk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2074 2073
Dr Carlotta Olivero

Dr Carlotta Olivero

Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellow

Email
oliveroc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8520
Dr Trevor Hay

Dr Trevor Hay

Research Associate

Email
haytj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29206 88498
Sarah Koushyar

Sarah Koushyar

Research Assistant

Email
koushyars@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Beatriz Salvador

Dr Beatriz Salvador

Research Associate

Email
salvadorb@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Valerie Meniel

Dr Valerie Meniel

Research Associate

Email
menielvs@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8498
Dr Gillian Seaton

Dr Gillian Seaton

Research Associate

Email
seatong1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4629
Dr Paul Shaw

Dr Paul Shaw

Honorary Senior Lecturer

Email
shawph1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8510
Dr Boris Shorning

Dr Boris Shorning

Research Associate

Email
shorningb@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8508
Dr Giusy Tornillo

Dr Giusy Tornillo

Research Associate

Email
tornillog@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8514