Find us >

Key Contacts

Head of School
Professor Simon Cottle
+44(0)29 208 74506

Deputy Head of School - Practice
Professor Richard Sambrook
+44(0)29 208 74509

Deputy Head of School - Academic
Professor Stuart Allan
+44(0)29 208 75420

Director of Research Environment and Development
Professor Karin Wahl-Jorgensen
+44(0)29 208 79414

Director of Research Impact and Engagement
Professor Jenny Kitzinger
+44(0)29 208 74571

School Manager
Ms Jo Marshall
+44(0)29 208 74916

School Secretary
Ms Sarah Bruford
+44(0)29 208 74509

Honorary Members and Visiting Fellows

Mr Leighton Andrews
Position: Honorary Visiting Professor
Email: (School Secretary)
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74509 (School Secretary)

Gill Branston
Position: Honorary Senior Lecturer
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74509 (School Secretary)

Mr Nicholas Brett
Position: Honorary Professor
Email: (School Secretary)
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74509 (School Secretary)

Mr Huw Edwards
Position: Honorary Professor
Email: (School Secretary)
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74509 (School Secretary)

Mr Nicholas Jones
Position: Honorary Visiting Professor (School Secretary)
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74509 (School Secretary)

Mr Damian Radcliffe
Position: Honorary Research Fellow
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74509 (School Secretary)

Mr Alan Rusbridger
Position: Honorary Distinguished Professor
Email: (School Secretary)
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74509 (School Secretary)

Dr Jon White
Position: Honorary Professor
Email: (School Secretary)
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74509 (School Secretary)

Former Honorary Professors

  • Miss Yasmin Alibhai-Brown - Honorary Visiting Professor
  • Dr Clive Jones - Honorary Visiting Professor
  • Dr Simon Lewis - Honorary Professor
  • Mr Gary Merrill - Honorary Tutor
  • Dr Paul Moorcraft - Honorary Visiting Professor
  • Dr Alex Rotas - Honorary Research Fellow
  • Mr Matt Swaine - Honorary Lecturer
  • Dr Claire Wardle - Honorary Lecturer
  • Mr Bin Zhao - Honorary Research Fellow

Visiting Fellows

The School attracts overseas scholars who wish to be based within the School for short periods of study. Current and recent fellows include:

  • Dr Guillermina Franco Álvarez, from Universidad Carlos III. She is researching about visual languages in Journalism and Infographics in British newspapers
  • Dr David Garcia Martul, from Universidad Carlos III. He is researching about crisis of local newspapers with a comparative study between Galicia and Wales.
  • Helga Ólafs, a visiting PhD Student from the The Faculty of Social and Human Sciences at University of Iceland. January - June 2014.
  • Visiting Fellows have included, Robert Szwed Clublin from the Institute of Journalism and Communication, Catholic University of Lublin, Poland; Laura Juntunen, Department of Communication, University of Helsinki, Finland; Ping Wei; Iara Biderman; Dr Dorothee Arlt, University of Bern, Institute of Communication and Media Studies, Germany.
  • Emma Gómez Nicolau, a visiting doctoral student from the Sociology and Social Anthropology Department of the University of Valencia. Spring 2013. Researching news coverage of violence against women on Spanish television.
  • Anca Anton, from the University of Bucharest, Romania. March - September 2011. Researching Romanian popular culture, its products, traits, trends and how they can be studied.
  • Dr Pablo López-Rabadán, from Communication Sciences Department of Universitat Jaume I, Spain. May - July 2011. Researching the crisis and the professional redefinition of journalism and the analysis of political coverage in the press.
  • Dr Martina Leonarz, from the University of Zurich, Switzerland. March - April 2011. Writing and researching “Another standpoint – gender and media” focusing on the depiction of the gender discourse in Swiss news media since 1968.
  • Maria José Brites, from the New University of Lisbon. November - December 2010. Writing and researching on youth, news and participation.
  • Associate Professor Margie Comrie, from Massey University, New Zealand, October 2010. Writing up research on the television coverage of New Zealand’s last general election.
  • Dr John Cokley, from the University of Queensland, Australia, October 2010. Researching and developing new business models and new products for journalism, especially in the area of team work and retail sales.
  • Dr Carles Pont Sorribes, from Pompeu Fabra Universty Barcelona. July 2010. Researching crisis and risk situations, especially the relationship between journalists and politicians, and how tragedy information is affected by new technology.
  • Atul Sethi, Summer 2010 Charles Wallace Fellowship, Researching cultural heritage in the UK and the reporting of heritage issues in the media.
  • Abhinav Garg, Summer 2009 Charles Wallace Fellowship, Researching the effects of the Freedom of Information Act, since its inception in the United Kingdom.
  • Paromita Pain, Summer 2008 Charles Wallace Fellowship, Researching ways in which the British media works to hold the attention of its young people.
  • Dr David Nolan (University of Melbourne), second half of 2007, writing his book and researching (with Prof. Simon Cottle) humanitarian aid and the news media.
  • Dr Cristina Ponte, from the New University of Lisbon (child and young people and the media: production, contents and reception)
  • Kavita Chowdhury, a senior journalist from Delhi who holds a Charles Wallace Fellowship (UK Press reporting of child protection)
  • Nigel Starck from the University of Queensland, Australia (the renaissance of obituary writing in the UK broadsheet Press)
  • Dr Mervi Pantii from the University of Amsterdam School of Research (UK and Finnish national newspaper coverage of tragedies 1920 - 2000)
  • Loveena Tandon, Associate Senior Producer of Aaj Tak, India (health reporting on UK TV)
  • Namrata Joshi, voted India's Best Film Critic at the national awards in 2005.