Find us >

Key Contacts

Head of School
Professor Simon Cottle
JomecHoS@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 74506

Deputy Head of School - Practice
Professor Richard Sambrook
SambrookRJ@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 74509

Deputy Head of School - Academic
Professor Stuart Allan
AllanS@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 75420

Director of Research Environment and Development
Professor Karin Wahl-Jorgensen
Wahl-JorgensenK@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 79414

Director of Research Impact and Engagement
Professor Jenny Kitzinger
KitzingerJ@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 74571

School Manager
Ms Jo Marshall

MarshallJ@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 74916

School Secretary
Ms Sarah Bruford
JOMECsec@cardiff.ac.uk
+44(0)29 208 74509

Academic Staff


Professor Stuart Allan
Position: Deputy Head of School - Academic
Professor of Journalism and Communication
Location: Room 1.26A Bute Building
Email: AllanS@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:+44(0)29 208 75420

Dr Howard Barrell
Position: Senior Lecturer
Location: Room 0.19A Bute Building
Email: BarrellHV@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 70100

Ms Jane Bentley
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)
Magazine Journalism
Location: Room 1.29 Bute Building
Email: BentleyJE@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74681

Dr Mike Berry
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Research)
Location: Room 0.60A Bute Building
Email: BerryM1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 70630

Professor Duncan Bloy
Position: Director of International Development/Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)
Location: Room 1.33 Bute Building
Email: BloyD@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74186

Dr Paul Bowman
Position: Reader
Director of Postgraduate Research
Director of the Race, Representation and Cultural Politics Research Group
Location: Room 1.23 Bute Building
Email: BowmanP@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 76797

Dr Jonathan Cable
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)
Location: Room 1.34 Bute Building
Email: CableJ1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 70646

Dr Cynthia Carter
Position: Senior Lecturer
Location: Room 0.63A Bute Building
Email: CarterCL@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 76172

Dr Rachel Cohen
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)
Location: Room 1.30, Bute Building
Email: CohenR@cardiff.ac.uk

Mrs Sali Collins
Position: Lecturer
Location: Room 1.28, Bute Building
Email: CollinsS5@cardiff.ac.uk

Professor Simon Cottle
Position: Head of School
Professor of Media and Communication
Director, Mediatized Conflict Research Group
Location: Room 0.62A Bute Building
Email: JomecHoS@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74506

Dr Stephen Cushion
Position: Senior Lecturer
Director of MA Political Communication
Location: Room 1.36 Bute Building
Email: CushionSA@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74570

Dr Lina Dencik
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Research)
Location: Room 0.61A Bute Building
Email: DencikL@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 2087 5461

Ms Naomi Dunstan
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)
Location: Room 1.25 Bute Building
Email: DunstanN@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 76098

Mr David English
Position: Deputy Director - Centre for Journalism
Location: Room 0.60b Bute Building
Email: EnglishDM@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74084

Professor Bob Franklin
Position: Professor of Journalism Studies
Director, Journalism Studies Group
Location: Room 1.26B Bute Building
Email: FranklinB1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 79308

Mr Ross Garner
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)
Media and Cultural Studies
Location: Room 1.30 Bute Building
Email: GarnerRP1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 207 75475

Ms Emma Gilliam
Position: Director Broadcast Journalism
Location: Room 0.55 Bute Building
Email: GilliamEN@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 76185

Dr IƱaki Garcia-Blanco
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Research)
Location: Room 0.61A Bute Building
Email: Garcia-BlancoI@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 76077

Ms Sara Hadwin
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)
International Journalism
Location: Room 1.31 Bute Building
Email: HadwinS@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74187

Professor Ian Hargreaves CBE
Position: Professor of Digital Economy
Location: Room 1.26B Bute Building
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74633

Dr Janet Harris
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)
Location: Room 1.25 Bute Building
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 76279

Professor John Hartley
Position: Professor of Journalism, Media and Cultural Studies
Location: Room 0.62A Bute Building
Email: HartleyJA@cardiff.ac.uk

Dr Arne Hintz
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Research)
Director MA Journalism, Media and Communications
Location: Room 1.38 Bute Building
Email: HintzA@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0)29 208 76281

Mr Tim Holmes
Position: Senior Lecturer
Location: Room 0.45 Bute Building
Email: HolmesTA@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74572

Dr John Jewell
Position: Director of Undergraduate Studies
Location: Room 0.50A Bute Building
Email: JewellJ@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 75331

Dr Jenny Kidd
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Research)
First Year Tutor
Location: Room 0.60A Bute Building
Email: KiddJC2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0)29 208 74489

Professor Jenny Kitzinger
Position: Director of Research
Director, Risk, Science, Health and Media Research Group
Location: Room 1.35 Bute Building
Email: KitzingerJ@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74571

Professor Justin Lewis
Position: Professor of Communication
Dean of Research for the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
Location: Room 0.63B Bute Building
Email: LewisJ2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 76341

Ms Sharon Magill
Position: Technical Demonstrator
Location: Room 0.55 Bute Building
Email: MagillSE@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 70678

Mr Shaun McCarthy
Position: Royal Literary Fund Fellow
Location: Room 0.58 Bute Building
Email: McCarthyS3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 76282

Mrs Emma Meese
Position: Media Training and Development Manager
Location: Room 0.32 Bute Building
Email: MeeseE@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 70101

Professor Toby Miller
Position: Professor of Media & Cultural Studies
Location: Bute Building
Email: tobym69@icloud.com

Dr Kerry Moore
Position: Lecturer
3rd Year Tutor
Location: Room 1.39 Bute Building
Email: MooreK4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 76199

Mr Nick Mosdell
Position: Deputy Director MA International Public Relations and Global Communications Management
Location: Room 1.21 Bute Building
Email: MosdellN1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 70102

Sara Moseley
Position: Development Director
Location: Room 1.28 Bute Building
Email: MoseleyS@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 76843

Mr Glyn Mottershead
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)
Digital Journalism
Location: Room 1.29 Bute Building
Email: MottersheadGG@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 76183

Mr Tony O'Shaughnessy
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)
Broadcast Journalism
Location: Room 0.55 Bute Building
Email: OshaughnessyA@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74172

Mr Elliot Pill
Position: Senior Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)
Public Relations and Global Communications Management
Location: Room 0.60C Bute Building
Email: ElliotPill@gmail.com
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 70138

Ms Sian Powell
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)
Location: Room 1.28 Bute Building
Email: PowellS10@cardiff.ac.uk

Ms Sara Robb
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)
Location: Room 1.30 Bute Building
Email: RobbS1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 70993

Professor Richard Sambrook
Position: Director - Centre for Journalism
Deputy Head of School - Practice
Location: Room 1.26 Bute Building
Email: SambrookRJ@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 70982

Mr James Stewart
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)
Location: Room 0.55 Bute Building
Email: StewartJ12@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74490

Professor Richard Tait
Position: Professor of Journalism
Location: Room 1.26 Bute Building
Email: TaitR@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 75420

Mr James Taylor
Position: Technical Demonstrator
Location: Room 0.55 Bute Building
Email: TaylorJ39@cardiff.ac.uk

Professor Terry Threadgold
Position: Professor of Communication and Cultural Studies
Pro Vice-Chancellor for Staff
Location: Room 0.31B Bute Building
Email: ThreadgoldT2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 74756

Professor Karin Wahl-Jorgensen
Position: Director of Research Development and Environment
Location: Room 1.32 Bute Building
Email: Wahl-JorgensenK@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 79414

Dr Andy Williams
Position: Lecturer (Teaching and Research)
Location: Room 0.61B Bute Building
Email: WilliamsA28@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 70088

Cinzia Yates
Position: Research Assistant
Location: Room 0.38 Bute Building
Email: YatesCA@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)29 208 70088