Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


CCCT has a long and distinguished history as a field-leader. The first of its kind in the UK, and indeed one of the first anywhere in the world, it has a strong international reputation for pioneering research into the work of French thinkers such as Louis Althusser, Roland Barthes, Jacques Derrida, Michel Foucault, Jacques Lacan and, more recently, Gilles Deleuze and Hélène Cixous.

We welcome PhD applications in staff specialist areas, such as the following:

For information about the MA in Critical and Cultural Theory, click here.

CCCT past and present

The Centre for Critical and Cultural Theory was set up in 1989 to create an institutional space for teaching and research in the (then) emerging discipline of theory.

The Centre’s founding members (Catherine Belsey, Christopher Norris, Terry Hawkes and Chris Weedon) wrote landmark works that contributed to shaping the field of critical and cultural theory as an area of teaching and research in the contemporary university.

Its current staff carry on its long-standing commitment to excellence and diversity in research, and offer opportunities for both discipline-based and interdisciplinary work in many intersections of the literary, critical, cultural, media and digital, from Continental Thought (poststructuralism, postmodernity, German aesthetics, Frankfurt School) to areas at the crossroads between history, culture and place (postcolonialism, gender and race, cultural history, trauma and memory studies), to a wide range of up-to-date issues relating to the contemporary world (posthumanism, globalisation, digital theory and culture, game studies, and eco-humanities).

CCCT hosts regular research seminars with presentations by CCCT staff, postgraduates, guest speakers, and visitors.

Each year we host selected visiting scholars from the UK and overseas, for periods between two weeks and one year. Some of them are participants in our popular Advanced Research Residencies programme. For details of the options click here.


Dr Laurent  Milesi

Honorary Chair
Professor Chris Weedon

Neil Badmington

Ann Heilmann

Martin A Kayman

Laurent Milesi

Radhika Mohanram

Jane Moore

Irene Morra

Becky Munford

Carl Phelpstead

Carl Plasa

Josh Robinson

Julia Thomas

Aidan Tynan

Current PhD Students