Skip to main content

Wales Book of the Year 2024

21 March 2024

Unlocking literature link ups through sponsorship of renowned prize

This World Book Day, the School of English, Communication and Philosophy announced its sponsorship of the English language Overall Wales Book of the Year Award 2024.

Principal sponsor of the English language Overall Wales Book of the Year Award, the School joins a number of supporters this year, including awards ceremony sponsors Brecon Carreg, Penderyn Distillery and Cwrw Llŷn.

The link-up will see the overall English language Wales Book of the Year [WBOTY] winner feature as part of the School’s Cardiff BookTalk season, available globally.

Students in the School will benefit in a range of hands-on ways from a mix of events and networking opportunities to tickets for a range of WBOTY events including a special reception at Hay Festival and awards ceremony access.

Head of School Professor Mark Llewellyn said:

"In a land where literature matters so much, we're passionate about playing our part in supporting creative writers and reading publics. Our staff and students in creative writing and literary studies will benefit enormously from the expertise, knowledge and experience offered by the Literature Wales team and the opportunities to participate in events and engagement with the writers, judges and reader communities."

Celebrating outstanding literary talent from Wales across a range of genres in English and Welsh, Wales Book of the Year offers an invaluable platform to both emerging and established writers.

The major literary award plays an essential part in celebrating and representing the nation’s writers, heritage, and rich literary culture. In each language it celebrates four categories – PoetryFictionCreative Non-fiction and Children & Young People - with overall winners claiming the titles of both Wales Book of the Year and Llyfr y Flwyddyn.

Additionally, The People’s Choice and Barn y Bobl prizes are decided by public vote.

Significant figures from the world of literature make up the distinguished judging panels. Judging for 2024 are:


chair of Wales PEN Cymru Dylan Moore (English Literature & Cultural Criticism, BA 2001)

writer Patrice Lawrence

novelist and playwright Rachel Trezise

poet and novelist Pascale Petit


poet Tudur Dylan Jones

actor, director and writer Hanna Jarman

writer and Senior Lecturer at the School of Welsh Rhiannon Marks

producer, director and writer Nici Beech

This year the Wales Book of the Year Award Ceremony will be held in Caernarfon on 4 July. Follow #WBOTY for all latest award news.

Share this story