Skip to content

Imaging, Sensors and Instrumentation

The work of the instrumentation groups comprises world-leading expertise in cryogenic design, superconducting detector technology, terahertz metamaterial and quasi optics, translated into end user instrument design and fabrication.

This work is driven by complex astronomical instruments, biophysics and medical applications.

Much of our technology is finding application across many scientific disciplines and we facilitate this through knowledge exchange and a close working relationship with QMC Instruments Ltd.

Academic staff

Professor Peter A R Ade

Professor Peter A R Ade

Astronomy Instrumentation Group

Email:
peter.ade@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4643
Dr Simon Doyle

Dr Simon Doyle

Reader
Astronomy Instrumentation Group

Email:
simon.doyle@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6170
Professor Peter Hargrave

Professor Peter Hargrave

Director of Innovation and Engagement
Deputy Head of Astronomy Instrumentation Group

Email:
p.hargrave@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6682
Professor Wolfgang Langbein

Professor Wolfgang Langbein

Head of Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email:
langbeinww@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0172
Dr Stephen A Lynch

Dr Stephen A Lynch

Associate Dean of Research
College of Physical Sciences and Engineering
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email:
lynchsa@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5315
Dr Egor Muljarov

Dr Egor Muljarov

Reader
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email:
mulyarove@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0175
Professor Peter M Smowton

Professor Peter M Smowton

Head of School, Physics and Astronomy
Managing Director, Institute for Compound Semiconductors
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email:
smowtonpm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5997
Professor Carole Tucker

Professor Carole Tucker

Astronomy Instrumentation Group

Email:
carole.tucker@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4144
Professor Oliver A Williams

Professor Oliver A Williams

Director of Research
Condensed Matter and Photonics Group

Email:
williamso@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4978

Associated staff

Dr Thomas Leonard Robert Brien

Dr Thomas Leonard Robert Brien

Research Associate
Astronomy Instrumentation Research Group

Email:
tom.brien@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6269
Dr Sam Rowe

Dr Sam Rowe

Research Associate
Astronomy Instrumentation Group

Email:
sam.rowe@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0047
Dr Rashmikant Sudiwala

Dr Rashmikant Sudiwala

Senior Research Associate
Astronomy Instrumentation Group

Email:
r.sudiwala@astro.cf.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5469

Images