Skip to content

Centre for Conflict, Security and Societies

The Centre for Conflict, Security and Societies promotes the transdisciplinary study of the challenges that international security and conflict pose for global, regional and local communities.

The Centre is dedicated to a pluralist understanding of security and conflict that takes account of the different social, cultural, political, economic, and legal implications of security policies, practices, narratives and effects.

The Centre is led by Co-Directors Dr Victoria Basham and Dr Simone Tholens.

The Centre for Conflict, Security and Societies engages in a series of crosscutting areas of research, reflecting the varieties of approaches and methodologies of its members.

These include research into:

  • the materiality of security (weapons, technologies, artefacts, extractive industries)
  • practices of security and insecurity (everyday enactments, habits, rules, organisations, modalities of interventions, militarisation, secrecy, terrorism and counter-terrorism, cyber, contestation)
  • histories of conflict and security (Cold War, narratives, discourses)
  • security agents and agency (practitioners, militaries, movements)

Academic staff

Dr Victoria Basham

Dr Victoria Basham

Reader in International Relations

Email:
bashamv@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4360
Dr Simone Tholens

Dr Simone Tholens

Lecturer in International Relations

Email:
tholenss@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5445
Dr Huw Bennett

Dr Huw Bennett

Reader in International Relations

Email:
bennetthc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 1234
Dr Andrea Calderaro

Dr Andrea Calderaro

Senior Lecturer in International Relations

Email:
calderaroa@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0) 29 2068 8819
Dr Sara Dezalay

Dr Sara Dezalay

Senior Lecturer in International Relations

Email:
dezalays@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4984
Dr Anne Harrington

Dr Anne Harrington

Senior Lecturer in International Relations

Email:
harringtona1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4361
Dr Hannes Hansen-Magnusson

Dr Hannes Hansen-Magnusson

Senior Lecturer in International Relations

Email:
hansen-magnusson@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8595
Dr Claudia Hillebrand

Dr Claudia Hillebrand

Senior Lecturer in International Relations

Email:
hillebrandc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8962
Dr Thomas Leahy

Dr Thomas Leahy

Lecturer

Email:
leahyt1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8839
Professor Sergey Radchenko

Professor Sergey Radchenko

Director of Research and Professor of International Relations

Email:
radchenkos@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2088 8821
Dr Elisa Wynne-Hughes

Dr Elisa Wynne-Hughes

Lecturer in International Relations

Email:
wynne-hughese@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 6096
Martin Horton-Eddison

Martin Horton-Eddison

Lecturer in International Relations

Email:
horton-eddisonm@cardiff.ac.uk

Postgraduate students

No profile image

Rosa Maryon

Research student

Email:
maryonrm@cardiff.ac.uk