Skip to content

Cardiff Corporate Governance Research Group

We aim to become a leading corporate governance research institute in the UK and globally.

Corporate governance has been on policymakers’ agendas since the late 1980s/early 1990s when the UK experienced a wave of corporate scandals, most of which were caused by powerful CEOs who faced little or no resistance from their fellow board members.

Overseas scandals such as Enron, Worldcom and Parmalat further fuelled the debate on how corporate governance should be designed and regulated. Finally, the 2008 financial crisis, which was brought about by weak corporate governance and perverse executive incentive schemes in the banking sector, highlighted the implications of corporate governance failures for the broader economy.

Aims

  • Raise the visibility of Cardiff Business School as one of the leading centres for excellence in Europe for corporate governance research.
  • Serve as a platform in Cardiff Business School that facilitates cross-disciplinary research across Sections and across University Schools in corporate governance.
  • Pursue Cardiff Business School's Public Value Strategy by establishing links between the group’s members and outside stakeholders to disseminate the Group’s research on corporate governance, inform its research and pave the way for potential impact.

Members of the group are studying a number of important issues and research questions in corporate governance.

These include:

  • the design of executive compensation and incentive schemes
  • the effect of board gender diversity on corporate decision making, innovation and firm value
  • corporate social responsibility (CSR)
  • the link between corporate control on the one side and dividend policy and insider trading on the other side
  • corporate governance in initial public offerings and venture-capital backed companies
  • the behavioural dynamics of boardrooms and corporate leadership
  • corporate governance in banks
  • the link between corporate governance and managers’ and investors’ decision making in the area of taxation
  • the effect of anti-takeover provisions on corporate innovation
  • corporate governance issues affecting family firms
  • how women are framed in corporate discourse
  • corporate governance in emerging markets, including China
  • directors’ networks.

Director

Professor Arman Eshraghi

Professor Arman Eshraghi

Professor of Finance and Investment

Email:
eshraghia@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0880

Academic staff

Dr Demetra Arsalidou

Dr Demetra Arsalidou

Reader in Law and Director of Postgraduate Research Studies

Email:
arsalidoud@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4347
Professor Leighton Andrews

Professor Leighton Andrews

Professor of Practice in Public Service Leadership and Innovation

Welsh speaking
Email:
andrewsl7@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6564
Dr Izidin El Kalak

Dr Izidin El Kalak

Lecturer in Finance

Email:
elkalaki@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4961
Dr Kevin Evans

Dr Kevin Evans

Senior Lecturer in Finance

Welsh speaking
Email:
evansk1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4558
Professor Kevin Holland

Professor Kevin Holland

Head of Accounting and Finance Section, Professor of Accounting and Taxation

Welsh speaking
Email:
hollandk2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5725
Professor Phillip Johnson

Professor Phillip Johnson

Professor of Law

Email:
johnsonp5@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4575
Professor Khelifa Mazouz

Professor Khelifa Mazouz

Professor of Finance

Email:
mazouzk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0973
Dr Asma Mobarek

Dr Asma Mobarek

Email:
mobareka@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4256
Dr Svetlana Mira

Dr Svetlana Mira

Senior Lecturer in Finance

Email:
miras@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6439
Dr Ricardo Pereira

Dr Ricardo Pereira

Senior Lecturer in Law

Email:
pereirar1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4644
Dr Oksana Pryshchepa

Dr Oksana Pryshchepa

Lecturer in Finance

Email:
pryshchepao@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6542
Professor Annie Pye

Professor Annie Pye

Emerita Professor

Email:
pyeaj@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Onur Kemal Tosun

Dr Onur Kemal Tosun

Lecturer in Finance

Email:
tosuno@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4517
Dr Qingwei Wang

Dr Qingwei Wang

Reader in Finance

Email:
wangq30@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5514
Dr Yue Tina Xu

Dr Yue Tina Xu

Lecturer in International Business and Management

Email:
xuy63@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4417
Professor Jason Xiao

Professor Jason Xiao

Professor of Accounting

Email:
xiao@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5374

Postgraduate students

No profile image

Min Ma

Research student

Email:
mam17@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Kefu Liao

Research student

Email:
liaok2@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Ruth Sagay

Research student

Email:
sagayro@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Yuxuan Xie

Research student

Email:
xiey27@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Rui Ye

Research student

Email:
yer@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Mengjia Li

Research student

Email:
lim48@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Soma Housein

Research student

Email:
houseins@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Yanchen Dai

Research student

Email:
daiy23@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Pengfei Gao

Research student

Email:
gaop2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)7759633396
No profile image

Qiuchen Ge

Research student

Email:
geq4@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Bo Guan

Research student

Email:
guanb1@cardiff.ac.uk

Associated staff

The 2nd International Corporate Governance Conference at Cardiff Business School will run on 1-2 May 2020. The Call for Papers will follow shortly.

Please mark your calendars!