Skip to main content

Academics honoured

4 May 2017

Learned Society of Wales Book

Academics from across the arts, humanities, and sciences have been elected Fellows of the Learned Society of Wales.

A total of 16 Cardiff University academics have been elected to the Society in the 2017 elections.

Election to Fellowship is a public recognition of academic excellence, with selection based on a rigorous examination of achievements in an academic’s relevant field.

“An inspiration to the nation”

Sir Emyr Jones Parry, the Society’s President, said: “I am delighted to welcome such a wide range of outstanding individuals to the Fellowship this year. This year’s election appreciates scholars who are making a contribution of excellence. They and their work are an inspiration to the nation. Again this year there are more female Fellows elected reflecting the Society’s determination to see merit rewarded.”

Established in 2010, the Society draws upon the considerable strengths of over 460 distinguished Fellows based in Wales, the UK and beyond.

In the 2017 election, 44 new Fellows were added to the Society’s ranks. Of the STEMM Fellows elected, a third are women, the highest proportion in the history of the Society.

By bringing together the most successful and talented Fellows connected with Wales, the Learned Society of Wales contributes to advancing and promoting excellence in all scholarly disciplines including providing independent and expert advice to Government.

Cardiff University’s newly elected Fellows are:

Professor Richard Catlow FRSC FInstP FRS FLSW, School of Chemistry; Professor Haley Gomez FRAS FLSW, School of Physics and Astronomy; Professor Ian Hall FLSW, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences; Professor John Hartley AM FAHA FRSA FLSW, School of Journalism, Media and Cultural Studies; Professor Andrew Henley FLSW, Cardiff Business School; Professor Binliang Lin FCIWEM FLSW, School of Engineering; Professor Helen Nicholson FRHistS FLSW, School of History, Archaeology and Religion; Professor Robert Pickard FRSB FRSM FLSW; Professor Loredana Polezzi FLSW, School of Modern Languages; Professor Sally Power FLSW, School of Social Sciences; Professor David Price FRSB FLSW, School of Medicine; Professor Philip Routledge OBE MD FRCP FRCPE FBTS FRSB FAcadMed HonFRCGP HonFFPM HonFBPhS FLSW, School of Medicine; Sir Evan Paul Silk KCB FLSW, Wales Governance Centre; Professor Julia Thomas FLSW, School of English, Communication and Philsophy; Professor Marcela Votruba FRCOphth FLSW, School of Optometry and Vision Sciences; Professor  Damian Walford Davies FLSW, School of English, Communication and Philosophy; Professor Howard Williams FLSW, School of Law and Politics.