Skip to main content

Nomination success at journalism awards

21 March 2022

Wales Media Awards logo
Recent graduates and long-standing alumni dominate nominations at the Wales Media Awards 2022.

Ten of the School of Journalism, Media and Culture’s alumni have been nominated in this year’s Wales Media Awards.

The nominees, who span nineteen years of history at the UK’s oldest journalism school, collectively share sixteen nominations including Sports Journalist of the Year and Radio Journalist of the Year.

The school’s most recent graduate in the list, Nest Jenkins, is nominated for the Ed Townsend Student Journalist of the Year award while News Journalism graduate Will Hayward is nominated in four categories including Political Journalist of the Year and Feature Writer of the Year.

Looking ahead to the ceremony Will, who is currently Welsh Affairs Editor at Wales Online, said, "It feels surreal to be nominated for four awards - especially as journalism is ultimately a team effort and I work with an amazing group of journalists at WalesOnline.

"It has been a hard time for everyone during the pandemic and we all feel a real sense of responsibility reporting on such big issues that impact on the most important parts of people's lives."

The Awards will be presented at a prestigious black-tie ceremony on 25 March 2022 and will be hosted by BBC Cymru Wales presenter Lucy Owen and ITV Cymru Wales’ Jonathan Hill.

The evening is the major Welsh fundraiser for the Journalists’ Charity, which supports working and retired journalists in urgent need with advice, grants and other forms of financial assistance.

Head of School Matt Walsh said, "We are delighted to see so many of our alumni recognised in this year’s Wales Media Awards.

“The Covid-19 crises has highlighted yet again journalism’s unique responsibility to provide trusted news that is independent of political interference.

“That so many of our graduates have managed to thrive during these challenges is testament to their professionalism and how their accredited training has given them the skills to produce journalism of the highest standard. We wish them much success."

This year’s nominees from Cardiff University are Nest Jenkins, Ffion Lewis, Laura Clements, Will Hayward, Geraint Thomas, Beth Edwards, Rob Osborne, Andy Davies, Hannah Thomas and Chris Wathan.