Skip to main content

Queen’s Birthday Honours

15 October 2020

Richard Catlow
Professor Richard Catlow

Members of the University community have been recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

Professor Richard Catlow, from the School of Chemistry, has been awarded a knighthood for his services to scientific research, whilst Professor Dianne Watkins, from the School of Healthcare Sciences, has been awarded an OBE for services to nursing education and research.

Professor Catlow, who is a Professor of Catalytic and Computational Chemistry, has been recognised for the development of methods that have become standard across the chemical sciences as well as a career-long commitment to effective leadership at university, national, and global levels.

He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS) in 2004 and, since 2016, has served as Foreign Secretary and Vice-President for the institution, maintaining a high profile for UK science across the world.

In 2013, Professor Catlow co-founded the UK Catalysis Hub at Harwell, Oxfordshire alongside the University’s Professor Graham Hutchings, which has since brought together catalytic scientists from over 40 participating institutions and industries to tackle real-world problems.

On receiving his knighthood, Professor Catlow said: "I am very pleased to have received this honour both personally and for the recognition which it affords for the key role of science and scientific research".

Professor Dianne Watkins
Professor Dianne Watkins

A prominent and internationally acclaimed nurse, educator and researcher, Professor Watkins first graduated as a nurse in 1979, a health visitor in 1983 and entered the world of higher education in 1990.

She has been recognised for her influential work over 40 years which has helped shape the profession of nursing, not only in Wales and the UK, but also in countries such as Germany, Oman, Namibia and Malawi.

Professor Watkins was part of the team that developed degree education for all nurses in Wales and developed the first non-medical prescribing programme for the country.

She is currently working with the University of Malawi and a hospital in Blantyre to improve standards of nursing care to patients through the development of a centre of nursing excellence to promote leadership and quality improvement initiatives.

On receiving the honour she said: “I am delighted and honoured to be included in this year’s Queens Birthday Honours list and to receive an OBE as recognition of the work I have done to promote the profession of nursing nationally and internationally."

My nursing career has been the most incredible journey and has allowed me to work with people and in countries where I have felt privileged to help develop the profession of nursing, in an attempt to improve care given to patients.

Professor Dianne Watkins Director of International and Civic Mission

Amongst the wider University community, several alumni were honoured for their work during the Covid-19 pandemic. Mrs Lucy Baker (BA 1995), Dr Eleri Davies (MBBCh 1989) and Mrs Gail Lusardi (MPH 2001) all received an MBE, whilst Mrs Jade Cole (PGCert 2017) was awarded a BEM.

Elsewhere, Ms Linda Dann (BA 1981) and Dr Kim Golding (BSc 1980, DClinPsy 2002) received a CBE; Mrs Jacqueline Fletcher (MSc 2005) received an OBE; Miss Jessica Jones (BSc 2015), Dr Ibrar Majid (MSc 2011), Dr Carolyn Middleton (ND 2011) and Mr Euan Edworthy (BScEcon 1991) received an MBE; and Mr Alun Guy (BA 1961) received a BEM.

Honorary Fellow Professor Lynne Berry (Hon 2012) received a CBE.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Colin Riordan said: “We are very proud to see the dedication and hard work of our staff and alumni recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours. On behalf of the University, I extend my warmest congratulations to everyone who has received awards this year.”

Share this story

As well as creating projects and partnerships with communities, we also welcome the public at many of our events and activities.