Skip to main content

Winner of 2019-20 T Glynne Davies Scholarship announced

20 March 2020

A TV gallery
The scholarship includes a bursary of £6,500 and placements with the BBC Wales news team, the ITV current affairs team and the S4C Press team.

The winner of the 2019-20 postgraduate T Glynne Davies Scholarship, which is awarded by S4C, is Siôn Tootill.

Siôn, aged 22, is currently an MA Broadcast Journalism here in Cardiff University's School of Journalism, Media and Culture.

After having his application accepted, Siôn was placed on a shortlist of students who were then given a journalistic task to complete, before being interviewed by an S4C panel, including News and Current Affairs Commissioner, Geraint Evans, and Press Team Leader, Manon Wyn James. After some deliberation, Siôn, who is from Llanelli, was chosen as the winner of the scholarship.

The prize of the scholarship includes a bursary of £6,500, as well as work experience placements with the BBC Wales news team, the ITV current affairs team and the S4C Press team.

Siôn Tootill
MA Broadcast Journalism student Siôn Tootill.

Siôn said: "I’m hoping to work in the world of radio and television, so these work placements are perfect for me. It gives me the chance to work alongside experienced journalists who already have the skills, and I’m hoping that will take me to the next level.

"The presenter of S4C’s Newyddion (News) broadcasts, Bethan Rhys Roberts, has held sessions with us on the MA course and she has spoken about how advantageous it has been for her to be able to speak and work in Welsh, and the opportunities that the language has given her.

"The course is excellent, and it’s given me a taste of every aspect of journalism. The best thing is how busy we are on the course. Although we are preparing to step up into the busy world of journalism, the nature of the course and work placements have helped make that step up a bit easier for us."

The scholarship was established as a tribute to the poet, novelist, journalist and broadcaster, T.Glynne Davies, who died in 1988. The scholarship is offered to students who are undertaking post-graduate courses at the Cardiff University School of Journalism, as a part of S4C’s commitment to developing skills within the industry in Wales.

Numerous past winners of the scholarship have gone on to lead successful careers as journalists, including Sian O’Callaghan, Head of Change at BBC Wales, several who have worked for the BBC, including Ben Price, Steffan Powell, Rhiannon Wilkins and Megan Davies, and with ITV Cymru, Bethan Muxworthy.

Sali Collins, MA Broadcast Journalism Course Director at Cardiff University, said: "We’re delighted for Siôn - he joins a group of people who’ve gone on to have amazing careers in broadcast news and current affairs thanks to the support of S4C and the T Glynne Davies Scholarship."

Share this story

Commentary, debate and opinion from the School of Journalism, Media and Culture.