Skip to main content

Conservation students receive prestigious awards

12 September 2019

Postgraduates awarded Anna Plowden Trust scholarships

Four MSc Conservation Practice students are recipients of national awards for their 2019-2020 studies.

The students who have secured Anna Plowden Scholarships are Ella Berry, Eleanor Evans, Katherine List and Joshua Seymour, all undertaking the two-year postgraduate degree. The award goes towards tuition fees for 2019/2020.

Professor of Conservation Jane Henderson said:

“I am truly delighted that the Trustees of the Anna Plowden Trust have been able to support our students again this year. These grants can be transformative for students, ensuring they can take up their place or continue into the final year. The Scholarships frequently free them to complement their study with conservation volunteering in local museums archives and historic houses. This additional work-based experience helps the students to understand how their skills can be applied and gives them opportunities to develop new skills and build networks for employment and career development in the future.”

Designed as a conversion programme for humanities and science graduates seeking a career in Conservation, the MSc Conservation Practice is one of a range of degrees dedicated to teaching the next generation of conservators from undergraduate to postgraduate level at the university.

Established in 1998 in memory of the pioneering conservator, The Anna Plowden Trust supports the development of skills in conservation and helps to raise awareness of the discipline.

Share this story