Skip to main content

Celebrating student achievements

20 July 2018


The Welsh School of Architecture official graduation ceremony took place on Tuesday 17thJuly.

Graduates and staff donned their caps and gowns for the official ceremony which took place in St. David’s Hall. Afterwards, students and their families were welcomed to Cardiff University’s Main Building for the Welsh School of Architecture graduation reception. Refreshments were enjoyed while students, staff and guests mingled and took photos.

Neil MacOmish, a Welsh School of Architecture alumnus and Group Board Director at Scott Brownrigg as well as practice lead for their Cardiff office, was invited to give this year’s graduation speech, after which selected prizes were awarded to students at BSc, MArch and MA/Diploma levels.

Following the ceremony and reception, students and their families were invited to visit the Welsh School of Architecture summer exhibition in the Bute Building.

We would like to congratulate all our graduates on successfully completing their degrees and wish them all the best for the future.

Students can keep in touch by registering with the Cardiff University Alumni Network or by following the School on LinkedIn.

Full list of 2018 prize-winners


T Alwyn Lloyd Memorial Travelling Scholarships (Top four students in BSc for overall performance) – Lewis Evans, Michal Kasperski, Elizabeth Miller, Samuel Us


T Alwyn Lloyd Memorial Prize (Best overall performance in MArch Year 2) – Daniela Andrade Salgado Silva

Colwyn Foulkes Memorial Prize (Best MArch Year 2 design in Built Environment) – Daniela Andrade Salgado Silva

LC Pritchard Memorial Prize (Best History of Architecture) – Chelsea Sia


Society of Construction Law Prize – Edmund Browne

Stanley Hall Cox Prize from Austin Smith Lord – Jenny Saunders

Share this story