Skip to content

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board provides advice on Institute Strategy and performance, interaction with external bodies and provides expert analysis of the ICS for input to the ICS Board.


Professor Martin Dawson

Professor Dawson is Director of Research in the University of Strathclyde’s Institute of Photonics and is also Head of the Fraunhofer Centre for Applied Photonics. He has over 30 years’ research experience in applied photonics gained in academia and industry and is recognised for his work on optically-pumped and ultrafast lasers, III-nitride optoelectronics and diamond photonics.

Advisory Board members

Professor Jon Heffernan

Professor Heffernan is Director of the EPSRC National Epitaxy Facility. His research expertise include: epitaxy of novel semiconductors materials and devices, molecular beam epitaxy, semiconductor nanostructures and their applications, Nitride-based semiconductors and their applications.

Professor Gerald Buller

Professor Buller is leader of the Single Photon Research Group at Heriot-Watt University. His research interests are in single photon detection and its applications, including quantum key distribution, quantum imaging, time–of–flight ranging and depth imaging. He founded Helia Photonics Ltd. in 2002, where he remains a Company Director.

Professor Mike Wale

Professor Wale is part-time Professor of Photonic Integration/Industrial Aspects at TU Eindhoven, The Netherlands, and Honorary Professor of Optical Communications at University of Nottingham, UK. Previously at Oclaro, he was responsible for strategic technology activities, eg Integrated optics research, development and production.

Mr Sam Evans

Mr Evans is Director Of Quality and External Affairs at Newport Wafer Fab. He is also the main external business officer working closely with the CS Connected community, Welsh and UK Governments. A graduate of Cardiff University (Chemistry), Sam has been in the semiconductor industry for over 30 years.

Dr Wyn Meredith

Dr Wyn Meredith is Director of the Compound Semiconductor Centre, a joint venture between IQE Plc and Cardiff University, focused on technology translation of research and design in compound semiconductor materials and devices. He is also an expert advisor to the UKs Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, Cardiff University Department of Physics, and the UK National III-V Centre.

Dr Chris Young

Dr Young is Commercialisation Senior Manager at Welsh Government.

Dr Jonathan Matthews

Dr Mathews is a lecturer in the School of Physics, University of Bristol, and leads their EPSRC funded research activity of experimental quantum metrology, within the Centre for Quantum Photonics and QETLabs entities. He is also an Investigator on the quantum-enhanced imaging hub – QUANTIC.

Professor Khaled Elgaid

Professor Khaled leads a high frequency electronic devices and integrated circuits research team using GaN technology. He has over 20 years’ experience in MMIC technology development and has collaborated with world leading national/international industrial partners (e.g. QinetiQ, BAE Systems, DTC and Keysight). He is an intensive user of ICS.