Skip to main content

People

The Data Innovation Accelerator team came together in early 2019 to respond to demand from companies in Wales for data science expertise.

Directors

Professor Roger Whitaker and Professor Pete Burnap are the inspiration behind the Data Innovation Accelerator. Both have extensive experience supporting solutions for large and small businesses.

Professor Pete Burnap

Professor Pete Burnap

Professor of Data Science & Cybersecurity

Email
p.burnap@cs.cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6249
Professor Roger Whitaker

Professor Roger Whitaker

College Dean of Research
Professor of Collective Intelligence

Email
whitakerrm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6999

Data science team

Our data science team is led by Dr Andrew Washbrook and Dr Ceri White. The team has a range of skills and experience in data science, statistics and programming. We’ll always match you up with the people who can get the best results for you.

Dr Andrew Washbrook

Dr Andrew Washbrook

Senior Data Scientist
Research

Email
washbrooka@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 1418
Dr Ceri White

Dr Ceri White

Senior Data Scientist
Research

Email
whitec22@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 1417
Dr Lowri Williams

Dr Lowri Williams

Data Scientist
Research Associate

Welsh speaking
Email
williamsl10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
02920879184
Dr Michael Holmes

Dr Michael Holmes

Data Scientist
Research Associate

Email
holmesm4@cardiff.ac.uk
Emily Elias

Emily Elias

Data Scientist
Research Assistant

Email
eliase@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
02920879184
Dimitra Mavridou

Dimitra Mavridou

Data Scientist
Research Assistant

Email
mavridoud1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
02920879025
Gillian Baird

Gillian Baird

Data Scientist - Research Assistant

Email
bairdg1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9184
Sachin Galahitiya

Sachin Galahitiya

Data Scientist - Research Assistant

Email
galahitiyas@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9184

Project management team

These are the people who make things happen behind the scenes, ensuring projects run smoothly and we meet the needs of our collaborators.

Catherine Roderick

Catherine Roderick

Project Manager - Data Innovation Accelerator

Email
roderickch@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6233
Linda Hellard

Linda Hellard

Business Liaison Officer

Email
hellardl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+ 44 (0)29 2251 0992
Jordan Lloyd

Jordan Lloyd

Project Administrator

Email
lloydj38@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 1407
Laura Sivyer

Laura Sivyer

Administrative Officer (Finance)

Email
sivyerl1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0654